508,239 active members
2,582 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Milltronics > Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps
Page 1 of 2 12
Results 1 to 12 of 15
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    98

    Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps

    Purchased a Partner 1 with the brushless servo drives a few months ago. Was told it had a problem with the Z axis - bad servo motor. Long story short (See my previous post) discovered two bad servo amps and was able to get the servo motor running with a different servo amp. Been away from the project for a while but dug back in seriously this weekend. Have the Z axis drive removed and replaced with a newer drive - the motor runs but here is where I need help. Since the machine was not working when I brought it home I have very limited knowledge of running it. The Z axis servo motor is not installed but it is wired into the machine. I have tested it using the test function of the drive but am not sure if the motor runs the right direction or not. Can someone tell me which direction the Z axis travels with a positive voltage applied to the input of servo amp? Or is there a way to jog the axis without first homing the control? I also have the Y axis servo amp wired in but will need to get it set up and running with the replacement servo amp so need to do the same kind of testing on it as well. Have the position feedback lines disconnected on the Z axis right now.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    467

    Re: Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps

    I'm pretty sure you can move axis's without homing by holding in the reset button and then hand wheel as needed. This is so you can get off a limit switch if necessary, but would also tell you if you move the hand wheel plus and the axis moves plus, you are going in the right direction.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10430

    Re: Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps

    Quote Originally Posted by SEK22Hornet View Post
    Purchased a Partner 1 with the brushless servo drives a few months ago. Was told it had a problem with the Z axis - bad servo motor. Long story short (See my previous post) discovered two bad servo amps and was able to get the servo motor running with a different servo amp. Been away from the project for a while but dug back in seriously this weekend. Have the Z axis drive removed and replaced with a newer drive - the motor runs but here is where I need help. Since the machine was not working when I brought it home I have very limited knowledge of running it. The Z axis servo motor is not installed but it is wired into the machine. I have tested it using the test function of the drive but am not sure if the motor runs the right direction or not. Can someone tell me which direction the Z axis travels with a positive voltage applied to the input of servo amp? Or is there a way to jog the axis without first homing the control? I also have the Y axis servo amp wired in but will need to get it set up and running with the replacement servo amp so need to do the same kind of testing on it as well. Have the position feedback lines disconnected on the Z axis right now.
    If the servo motor is running the correct way, the Z axes when moving down will be moving in a negative direction
    Mactec54

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    118

    Re: Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps

    F7 params F1 level, type proto3, enter then 3, enter, then escape back to see the F1 button showing Home push F1 then it will show the F10 home here, Hit F10 and you can jog if no errors on drives.

    Ron

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    98

    Re: Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps

    Thanks Ron! I'm at work right now but if I am following the steps in my head correctly - it sounds like what this is doing is resetting the "home" to the current position of the drives - sounds like it may be exactly what I'm looking for! I may have a few minutes tonight to give this a try. Will this stay set or will I need to do this each time I restart the machine? Dan

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    98

    Re: Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    If the servo motor is running the correct way, the Z axes when moving down will be moving in a negative direction
    The mechanics I can figure out easily enough - my question is really asking the polarity of the control voltage to the input of the servo amp. I noticed while tracing the wires out that the Y and Z axis are both wired with one polarity while the X axis is wired opposite polarity. Just trying to avoid a runaway - don't want to slam anything against the stops. Dan

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    118

    Re: Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps

    Dan,
    You will have to do this ever time you boot control but will save you thumb holding reset button, Be careful as it does reset the 0 axis location and you can run into hard limits easily, use only for diagnosing drive issues. Keep your hand over the e stop button for a runaway which you will have with no encoder feedback. Take the belts of the axis when you start and you should be ok.

    Ron

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    98

    Re: Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps

    Quote Originally Posted by rl49 View Post
    Dan,
    You will have to do this ever time you boot control but will save you thumb holding reset button, Be careful as it does reset the 0 axis location and you can run into hard limits easily, use only for diagnosing drive issues. Keep your hand over the e stop button for a runaway which you will have with no encoder feedback. Take the belts of the axis when you start and you should be ok.

    Ron
    Thanks Ron - Sounds good. I plan on pulling the belts on the X and Y axis. The Z is already off since the motor is still out laying on the control cabinet right now (I have a clamp holding it in place). I'll probably finish wiring in the encoder on the Z axis as well before trying this. The X axis is still wired to the Servo Dynamics amp right now. I need to get the Z axis finished up then I'll move on the Y.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    98

    Re: Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps

    Tried the override sequence without any luck - set the Parms, set level 3, went back to the home screen - showed F10 Here grayed out - pressed it and it turned green. Screen never stopped showing the message to press cycle start to start sequence. Pressing cycle start did nothing either. Did have the X axis motor drive disconnected so will go ahead and flip the belt off of the X axis, reconnect the drive and try again later. good news is no smoke at least and the power held in. Could not get to a jog screen. Did try holding the reset switch and turning the handwheel with no luck either - must be more to that method since it would have to have something tell it which axis to move. Dan

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    467

    Re: Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps

    You hold in the reset button, hit the Jog key (F2), then you use the keyboard keys to move XY or Z, 4 or 6 for X, 8 or 2 for Y, or the = or left arrow key for Z. The graphic should be on the screen when you enter jog mode. The hand wheel (MPG) doesn't work in this mode.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    118

    Re: Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps

    After entering parameters and escaping back to home screen you have to push F1 first that makes the F10 button active on my C5 and C6 controls then hit cycle start.

    F10 (Here) Home-Here
    F10 (Here) is only active if the correct password has been entered in the setup parameters.
    The machine can be homed without moving the axis. Toggle the F10 (Here) key when the key is lit and push Cycle Start. The position of the machine will be assumed as home zero. This action is useful in that it allows jogging, handwheeling, or MDI’ing without physically homing first. It is not recommended you run programs unless the machine is homed in the normal fashion as the software limits will not be valid after F10 (Here).

    from page 143 C6 Programming Manual

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    98

    Re: Replacing Partner 1 Brushless Servo Amps

    RL49 - thanks for the information and the reference to where it is found - I was able to find a copy of the manual to download from the Milltronics website.

Page 1 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Need Servo Amps? Come Get Them
    By mrogowski in forum Ebay Ads here
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-24-2017, 03:26 AM
  2. aniulam 3300mk servo amps. for a servo transformer
    By Dave Rothermel in forum HURCO
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-10-2012, 04:23 AM
  3. PMI AXA servo amps
    By dave3431 in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-02-2010, 05:02 PM
  4. Ground fault error light on 1991 Partner 1D servo amps
    By Jim Shaper in forum Milltronics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-10-2010, 01:35 AM
  5. DC servo amps
    By converterk in forum CamSoft Products
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-22-2003, 06:09 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •