509,979 active members
3,440 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    28

    Axis, Linuxcnc, where is Axis?

    Turning on Mach 3 the GUI is right there. Where is the GUI in linuxcnc ?
    I don't want to setup a machine , I just want to see the jog function ,if it has one, to experiment.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1938

    Re: Axis, Linuxcnc, where is Axis?

    If you aren't setting up a machine then you should run a simulation and maybe read the directions at least a little

    Running LinuxCNC

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    28

    Re: Axis, Linuxcnc, where is Axis?

    109jb, I think that works only with simulated hardware. I want to run some tests on an actual machine with the jogging function of linuxcnc, if it has that.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    360

    Re: Axis, Linuxcnc, where is Axis?

    The best bet would be to download and install the Linuxcnc ISO and there should be a CNC menu at the system level to open linuxcnc. This will open a chooser type window to select your config. There are many Simulated machines you can play with.

    There are two configuration programs supplied. One called stepconf which will configure a parallel port and another called pncconf to configure the popular Mesa interface cards.

    It is possible to import a Mach3 XML file and it will create a config. I think that is done in stepconf.

    configurations go in subfolder under the folder ~/linuxcnc/config (where ~ is your user home directory)
    Configs typically have two files. An .INI file that contains the static hardware configuration. And a .HAL file which defines how everything is "wired" together.
    stepconf and pncconf will create a new folder in the config folder and populate it with a hal and ini file. The ini file will then be listed in the chooser window.
    Rod Webster
    www.vehiclemods.net.au

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1938

    Re: Axis, Linuxcnc, where is Axis?

    If you just want to tes by jogging, use stepconfig. There is a "test this axis" feature in there to test each axis and it allows jogging back and forth on each axis individually so you can set your speed, accel, microstepping,etc.

    Stepper Configuration Wizard

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    28

    Re: Axis, Linuxcnc, where is Axis?

    Thanks 109jb, "test this axis" is more than likely what I need.

Similar Threads

  1. Dual X axis with LinuxCNC
    By sajurcaju in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-30-2018, 09:36 AM
  2. Looking for help with LinuxCNC - Y and Z axis not moving
    By fergneil in forum General Off Topic Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-16-2015, 11:42 PM
  3. 3040T-DJ 3 axis cnc, need LinuxCNC help
    By FpvCnc in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-03-2014, 02:24 AM
  4. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-06-2013, 01:02 PM
  5. LinuxCNC axis calibration
    By bianchi in forum LinuxCNC (formerly EMC2)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-03-2012, 03:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •