584,871 active members*
5,191 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Cincinnati CNC > Arrow 1000 Coolant pump reversed direction

Arrow 1000 Coolant pump reversed direction

Scratching my head! today I lost coolant, after blowing out lines, checking the key way on the impeller etc, I think my pump is spinning backwards! I am not a electrician and have little understanding of 3 phase motors...but if I understand correctly, if it lots a phase.it should not start? No electrical work was being done, no wiring changes. Open to being educated and getting some ideas as what to check!
    Thanks in advance! Bill

Re: Arrow 1000 Coolant pump reversed direction

3 phase motors don't spontaneously reverse direction, and you are correct, loss of phase normally won't allow the motor to start. If it's a centrifugal pump, it will still pump when running backwards, but just not as efficiently depending on the shape of the impeller. You might try interchanging any two of the motor wires, that will reverse the rotation.

Many times there is an arrow on the fan or pump housing to show the correct rotation. Make sure the pump is not air locked, if you have to, pour coolant into the pump from the discharge line to prime the pump.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

thank you for the response, I am considering just swapping wires...but I am reluctant because something must have failed, My spindle and table directions operate in their normal directions, so I am struggling with the thought of something changing up stream of the pump. I did dissemble and inspect the pump portion (did not disassemble the motor portion) and looking at the the design...its running backwards! tomorrow I will look for blown fuses etc, just encase there is a possibly some way the motor is starting single phase!

Maybe it has always been running in reverse? A quick phase to phase voltage check would tell you if you have a lost phase.
    Jim Dawson