Register for free
Login

z axis advancing to plus during emboss

This message is to be deleted
    Last edited by dongo13; 08-29-2018 at 07:43 PM. Reason: delete

Re: z axis advancing to plus during emboss

Quote Originally Posted by dongo13 View Post
    HI...NEWBIE HERE
    AM EMBOSSING A SIMPLE IMAGE ON 3X3 SQUARE WOOD STOCK WITH MACH3.
    AFTER ABOUT 50 ZIGZAGS THE Z AXIS HAS CLIMBED FROM
    ZERO TO ABOUT plus .080 THOUSANDTHS.
    IF I LET THE PROGRAM FINISH... ABOUT 15 MIN.... THE Z AXIS WILL BE ABOUT
    1/4" ABOVE THE STOCK.
    I SENT THE SPINDLE BACK TO ZERO AND THE X AND Y ARE BOTH AT ZERO BUT
    THE Z IS AT PLUS .080
    A DOZEN DIFFERENT IMAGES REACT THE SAME.
    I HAVE UPDATED MACH3, UPDATED POST PROCESSOR, USED DIFFERENT CAM PROGRAMS,
    MOTORS HAVE BEEN TUNED.
    CAN SOMEONE TELL ME IN WHAT AREA TO LOOK IN TO FIND WHAT IS CAUSING THIS PROBLEM.
    SUCH AS IN MACH3 CONFIGURATION OR POST PROCESSOR OR THE STEPPER MOTOR OR
    MOTOR DRIVER OR ???.
    I HAVE BEEN AT THIS OFF AND ON FOR ABOUT 3 MONTHS.
    thanx...Don
    Yes we can see that turn the caps off

It is doing this because it is how you have programed it

Or how you have setup the tool offsets

Post part of your program
    Mactec54

Re: z axis advancing to plus during emboss

Cause is loss of steps on the Z. Lower the velocity setting. Using stepper motors the controller tells them to move but being an open loop system it has no way of knowing where it is. If you have to more more mass it takes longer to accelerate. If you try to move it to fast it looses steps. The Z axis is generally the culprit accelerating and decelerating that vertical weigh. Just experiment with the tuning on the Z. I use to think I had to set everything to max settings my self and found where I was having problems. I have a big Bridgeport series 1 Boss 5. That is a lot of mass to contend with.
    Jack

Hi Jack... I think we need to discuss your statement of 'Cause is loss of steps on the Z'.