585,737 active members*
4,887 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Fadal > Fadal VMC 40 - 2216 Getting Hot

Fadal VMC 40 - 2216 Getting Hot

Hi, I am a beginner and need some advice.

I purchased a Fadal 2216 and transported it to my shop on a flatbed trailer. I have it powered up with a phase converter and need to "unlock" the unit from transport mode. The previous owner stuck a piece of steel barstock in the spindle to keep it from moving during transport. I powered it up to move the spindle in jog mode.

I turned on the machine and phase converter and the circled item in the attached photo began smoking and smelling like burnt plastic after about 2 minutes of being on. The phase converter was installed by professionals, so why would this item be getting so hot? It appears that it is meant to get somewhat hot, but not to the point that it is smoking. Is there any chance it was just burning off some debris that got stuck to it during transport?

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Re: Fadal VMC 40 - 2216 Getting Hot

That is your spindle braking resistors. When idle, they should not be getting hot, there should be no current flow to them. They only are use for decelerating the spindle and should never be active when idle or steady running. That would be an indication of DC bus overvoltage in the spindle drive, I would expect the DC bus to be not greater than about 340 VDC when operating on 240V input power.

Make sure the machine is wired for the correct input voltage, and that the RPC is outputting the correct voltage. The phase to phase voltage measurement should be within about 5% or better, and no phase to phase measurement should be much over the nominal input voltage. It is possible that your RPC needs to be better balanced by adding or removing balance capacitors as needed. Did you buy a CNC rated RPC?
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Jim,