584,837 active members*
5,106 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking > WoodWorking Topics > CNC 6040Z X-Axis crawls, Help?

CNC 6040Z X-Axis crawls, Help?

I'm new to the CNC world but was enthusiastic enough to acquire the china 6040Z USB with 1500w spindle. Have just started engraving and faced an odd behavior of the X-Axis. The attached image depicts steps, each one of them created during the depth increments. It seem like the X-Axis crawls in small intervals from left to right.

The steps width 1mm (the bit dia is 2mm). I tried it in various Cut and feed rate and got same phenomenon.

I'm using Mach3 and CamBam. Any idea how can I fix this?

Cheers
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_4757.JPG  

Re: CNC 6040Z X-Axis crawls, Help?

Hello, I have the same problem with my new CNC6040Z machine. I have tried different models, different software, different gcode flavors, it is always there. Must be a configuration issue.
    Did you solve this problem ? Thank you

Have you got handwheels on the backs of your stepper motors?
    If so, with the power OFF, manually wind all the axis through their travels and make sure they all move freely and smoothly along their entire travel distances.
    If not, you have a /some mechanical issures that will need to be addressed.

Is there any lubrication on your rails and balls crews? try some light machine oil ( sewing machine oil) and see if that helps.

If a mech issue, you may need to start disassembling and check each component for binding.

I found many problems with my X61500GT. Two bearing blocks had to be replaced, Y axis ballscrew replaced and ball nut block re-shimmed.....

This may help it is from Almicar.
    CNC6040Z DSP X axis drift

Hi, this post is to share my (short) experience with my new machine bought on Aliexpress from ChinaCNCzone factory store end of August 2019 (2245 USD, 4 axis and pump).