545,526 active members*
1,948 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor
Page 2 of 2 12
Results 21 to 35 of 35
  1. #21
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    288

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    Quote Originally Posted by crl1_1 View Post
    black=left potentiometer pin
    green=middle
    red=right
    Thankyou very much for your help. Now I got my motor to work, and it has a stable speed. Can I now use the potentiometer to control the speed instead of the buttons on the control box in order to regulate the speed without loosing force on the motor?

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    41

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    Quote Originally Posted by jaru-eri View Post
    Thankyou very much for your help. Now I got my motor to work, and it has a stable speed. Can I now use the potentiometer to control the speed instead of the buttons on the control box in order to regulate the speed without loosing force on the motor?
    No problem. Yes you can control the speed but make sure you select 4500 as your highest speed and 500 as your lowest in the settings. you will also have to always return the potentiometer to 0 everytime you turn it off otherwise it wont start.

  3. #23
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    288

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    Quote Originally Posted by crl1_1 View Post
    No problem. Yes you can control the speed but make sure you select 4500 as your highest speed and 500 as your lowest in the settings. you will also have to always return the potentiometer to 0 everytime you turn it off otherwise it wont start.
    Yes, I have the same problem regarding turning to zero. My motor starts first when I have turned the potentiometer half the way around (in the middle position), so I have a very narrow scale for the speed regulation. I have tried with a 1K pot. Will I get a wider scale if I decrease this value from 1K to f.ex. 220 ohm?

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    41

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    Quote Originally Posted by jaru-eri View Post
    Yes, I have the same problem regarding turning to zero. My motor starts first when I have turned the potentiometer half the way around (in the middle position), so I have a very narrow scale for the speed regulation. I have tried with a 1K pot. Will I get a wider scale if I decrease this value from 1K to f.ex. 220 ohm?
    25k will work fine, if yopu want a finer scale you can use a multi turn wire wound potentiometer
    http://a.co/d/2UR1job

  5. #25
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    59

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    Quote Originally Posted by sclelectronics View Post
    Just found the Speed adjusting pot.....
    It is a 25k ohm......
    Here is a photo of how it is wired....


    Stuart
    Posted this in the Taig area

    I now control the speed with C69 by CNC4PC

    Stuart

  6. #26
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    288

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    Quote Originally Posted by sclelectronics View Post
    Posted this in the Taig area

    I now control the speed with C69 by CNC4PC

    Stuart
    Thankyou for the information. Do the 3 wires at the lower left have something to do with the speed adjustment or are they for something else? And can the c69 be used as an interface for controlling the speed through Mach3?

  7. #27
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    59

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    Quote Originally Posted by jaru-eri View Post
    Thankyou for the information. Do the 3 wires at the lower left have something to do with the speed adjustment or are they for something else? And can the c69 be used as an interface for controlling the speed through Mach3?
    In the lower right of the photo, is the 6 position connector plugs into the controller.
    On the left, centered in the photo is the potentiometer. Just giving you a reference to where the wires go.....

    Also, yes I can control the speed directly through Mach 3 now...
    My Taig is controlled through an ESS. I am using the 2nd port on the ESS to control the C69 speed control board.


    The latest ESS plug-in allow speed governing.
    So I just setup my rpm pulse sensor...I am using hall effect sensor for this.


    So I have a lot of tweaking to do now!!

    Stuart

  8. #28
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    288

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    I found that my controller first trigger after the pot has provided about two volts to the input in the control box and that´s why I cant use the full range of the turning scale. So the solution have to be to put a resistor between the black wire and the pot in order to get a wider scale. This resistor has to be around half the value of the pot. The scale of the pot. will not provide a linear speed increasement to the motor.

  9. #29
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    18

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    Quote Originally Posted by sclelectronics View Post
    In the lower right of the photo, is the 6 position connector plugs into the controller.
    On the left, centered in the photo is the potentiometer. Just giving you a reference to where the wires go.....

    Also, yes I can control the speed directly through Mach 3 now...
    My Taig is controlled through an ESS. I am using the 2nd port on the ESS to control the C69 speed control board.



    Stuart

    I know this is an old thread, but I'm really hoping you could provide some more details of the ESS - C69 setup that you've got going. I have a spare ESS and a C6 board laying around, and I'd like to put them to use with one of these motors on a lathe. (C69 is pretty much the same as C6, just doesn't take up a whole parallel port.)

  10. #30
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    59

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    No real magic here....
    In the ESS plugin:
    I configured the port 2 on my ESS... Just like Port 1.
    Also setup the required PWM freq.

    Then under Ports and Pins, for port 2
    I enabled pin 14...Spindle PWM.

    Finally on the C69, adjust the control voltage to 5 volts when at max rpm...

    hth,
    Stuart

  11. #31
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    18

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    Quote Originally Posted by sclelectronics View Post
    No real magic here....
    In the ESS plugin:
    I configured the port 2 on my ESS... Just like Port 1.
    Also setup the required PWM freq.

    Then under Ports and Pins, for port 2
    I enabled pin 14...Spindle PWM.

    Finally on the C69, adjust the control voltage to 5 volts when at max rpm...

    hth,
    Stuart

    Thanks.

    Just to make sure I've got this all...

    (1) Analog output of C69 goes to the wiper on the pot, when tuned to 5v max output
    (2) Analog ground of C69 goes to the COM pin on the pot
    (3) potentiometer reference voltage doesn't get used, because it's insanely high and you don't want to let the smoke out of the speed control board?

    Are you using the relay output for anything? I saw a thing from one guy that used an NO relay on that line to force it to 0V in order to avoid the controller error thing where it thinks the hall sensor has failed.

    You're not using any external circuits to tweak the power level? Just the potentiometer on the C69?

  12. #32
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    59

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    Yes you got it all....
    Wiper and Ground connections to the C69.... no Reference voltage signal
    No other external circuits,

    Stuart

  13. #33
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    18

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    Quote Originally Posted by sclelectronics View Post
    Yes you got it all....
    Wiper and Ground connections to the C69.... no Reference voltage signal
    No other external circuits,

    Stuart


    Thanks.

    With the external controls like this, does it still have a minimum of 500 rpm? (I'm looking at a lathe application, and I'd like to avoid using any of the original pulleys / countershaft setup. Problem is, 6:1 back gearing at 500 rpm only gives me a minimum of 83 rpm, and I'd really like to be able to get down into the 30s without having to shift belts around.)

  14. #34
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    59

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    When tuned ..
    It will give the same speed range like the manual Pot. control!

  15. #35
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Posts
    3

    Re: Help!!! What voltage is the consew 3/4 brushless motor

    If you have a consew csm1000: 3/4 HP, then it is 110 volts and 6 amp.
    Anyway, I'd like to know what you want to use it for, so I could see whether it is suitable or not.
    Generally talking, you've made a good choice, since this motor is indeed lovely. I'll tell you about its main features right away, but first, let me recommend a site where you can buy a 24V brushless DC motor.
    Now, talking about its main features, I'd mention the following:
    No noise
    Consumes the minimum amount of electricity when the machine is not working
    Easily adjust the speed and direction of the engine using the buttons
    No clutch disc
    Adjustable belt tensioner

Page 2 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. G540 to Consew Type Servo Sewing Machine Motor
    By IdefixRC in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 10-31-2019, 11:57 PM
  2. Wiring new motor ? Consew 3/4 hp
    By Gamble in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-2017, 02:35 PM
  3. 320X motor voltage problem, motor is unpowered by drive
    By RustedOut in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-15-2013, 05:57 AM
  4. Brushless Motor for X2?
    By skmetal7 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 06-26-2010, 11:42 AM
  5. brushless dc motor
    By microstep1 in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-06-2008, 01:34 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •