509,576 active members
4,088 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Mastercam > Need help converting .JPG to use with mastercam 2018
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    1

    Need help converting .JPG to use with mastercam 2018

    I'm pretty new to mastercam but i'm trying to convert a black and white .jpg file into mastercam so i can program our prototrak mill to cut it out. Ive found videos explaining how to raster to vector in mastercam 2017 but no help for 2018. I'm assuming thats what i need to do. Thanks for any help

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    756

    Re: Need help converting .JPG to use with mastercam 2018

    Art to part, no problem. raster to vector
    Same instructions in X3 i have done many of these,
    tedious work, nothing as easy as you want it to be.
    Been doing this too long

  3. #3
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3529

    Re: Need help converting .JPG to use with mastercam 2018

    The procedure for 2018 is really the same for 2017. so if you can in 2017 you can in 2018.
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    85

    Re: Need help converting .JPG to use with mastercam 2018

    Type - "ALT-C" (Runs a c-hook)
    Now open the file called Rast2vec.dll

    Experiment with the process...

    My big tip for this was to open the file in a photo editor and turn the brightness and contrast up and edit the picture in a way that it will make the edges stand out.
    https://www.gimp.org/

    AG

  5. #5
    Community Moderator cadcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    3529

    Re: Need help converting .JPG to use with mastercam 2018

    So you know to get to Raster to Vector in 2018 this not considered a Chook anymore as a of a few versions back.
    it is located under wireframe.
    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)
    Cadcam
    Software and hardware sales, contract Programming and Consultant , Cad-Cam Instructor .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •