585,676 active members*
4,451 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > Amplifier to suit Fanuc aC6 Spindle motor?

Amplifier to suit Fanuc aC6 Spindle motor?

Hi i have a GE Fanuc alpha C6 spindle motor (A06B-0844-B200#3000) has anyone had any experience using these types of motor? Im looking for an amplifier to run this motor, there are quite a few different types offered by fanuc however i have no experience using these, the requirements of this motor are to be used as a CNC lathe spindle motor for a project i am working on, i require the functionality of rigid tapping and C-axis interpolation, machine controller is likely to be something along the lines of the GSK980TDc controller, does the fanuc drive have functionality for closed loop at the drive for a spindle motor such as this? Or is it not necessary only requiring the use of an external encoder on the spindle via a belt for synchronization with the Z-axis servo for screwcutting and rigid tapping not sure about c-axis movements though? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Edit:- also does this have to even be a fanuc drive? Or can i use a different manufacturer drive e.g. delta or allen bradley etc. that allows encoder feedback for closed loop at the drive if this is even necessary?

Re: Amplifier to suit Fanuc aC6 Spindle motor?