584,830 active members*
5,782 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Is KFLOP right for my application

We're using a laser vibrometer to perform vibration scans on various objects.
    The system consists of an Aerotech U500 motion controller (PCI), and a pair of Aerotec 1000DC servo motors, one of which is controlling a linear axis and the other a rotation axis.
    The motors have continuous torque rating of 135 OZ-IN.
    The laser head is mounted on the linear axis.

We are looking to replace the ageing Aerotech motion controller and on a separate thread someone recommended KFLOP.

After reading up on it it looks promising. However, since I'm not experienced with retrofitting CNC systems I'm worried I might be missing something so would appreciate some advice:
    1) I'd be grateful if anyone can point out obvious issues using our existing motors
    2) Assuming we opt for the KFLOP+KSTEP, how do we connect Aerotech motor cables/connectors to the KSTEP? Is it possible to buy adaptors, or should we cut off the connector and fit something appropriate.

BTW, we don't have any concerns on the software side (C programming).

Thank-you in advance!

Re: Is KFLOP right for my application

Hi gperkins,

It seems you have DC Brushed Servo Motors not Stepper motors. I'm guessing you have Aerotech 1135

I would expect you have some kind of encoder feedback also. Do you have specifications on those?

Our KStep only works with Stepper Motors so would not be appropriate.

It seems those motors are rated at 80V @ 5.5A continuous. Our SnapAmp could drive those.

You might be able to use your existing drives which might involve less wiring changes. You would need to research what they are and how they interface. I did a Google search and found this:

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...jouLeOlYkZXBPy

HTH
    TK
    http://dynomotion.com

Hi TomKerekes,
    Thanks for the reply.