502,673 active members
5,042 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Cat30, iso30, nt30, bt30 for benchtop mill.
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    114

    Cat30, iso30, nt30, bt30 for benchtop mill.

    Hi, does anybody have any leads relating to converting Rongfu clone mills to a 30 taper?
    It's a universally copied design (rongfu) and there has to be somebody making a dollar from the conversion.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    329

    Re: Cat30, iso30, nt30, bt30 for benchtop mill.

    A long time ago EMCO made some mills that size with a manual tool change for 30 size tapers. They are available used occasionally.

    Your question is good, the problem is usually that taper comes with a gripper system which makes for a big jump in cost relative to a Rongfu with an R8 taper.
    The 30 taper pushes the assembly into an unattractive price point.
    I could be proven wrong(fu) though. (sorry for the bad pun)

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    569

    Re: Cat30, iso30, nt30, bt30 for benchtop mill.

    charter oak has an optional NT30 spindle upgrade. I'm pretty sure you can buy it separate from the mill. Might be worth a quick phone call if you're interested.

    Manual Square-Column Bed Mills | Charter Oak Automation

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    114
    Thanks CS900, that spindle suits RF45 clones, can anybody confirm if an RF45 spindle tube has the same dimension as an RF30/31/32 spindle tube?
    Edit;
    After a bit of google its looking likely that the 75mm quill assembly on the round column and square column are close in terms of design and part numbers.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    569

    Re: Cat30, iso30, nt30, bt30 for benchtop mill.

    i would think you could make it work. You may have to replace the bearings to match the new spindle dimensions and the upper bearing location may be off a bit. I'm sure you could make it work.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    114
    The company that sells those are not easy to email replies from, I imagine going in person or by phone would get results.
    Not easy to do from across the pacific ocean.
    Wisdom results from foolishness!

Similar Threads

  1. ZX4075 BT30/ISO30 Spindle
    By vakeiros in forum RF-45 Clone Mill
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-12-2018, 01:14 AM
  2. Iso30/bt30 different holder?
    By gary_808 in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-15-2015, 03:24 PM
  3. BT30 Spindle cartridge for a smithy mill
    By mlennon in forum Maintenance DIY Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-2013, 05:13 PM
  4. convert SK30/BT30 to int30(ISO30) toolholder
    By HenrikGM in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-26-2009, 08:43 PM
  5. ISO30 or CAT30? tool holders source
    By DigitalDeath in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-17-2008, 05:51 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •