585,575 active members*
3,727 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Thoughts on cnc converted MH22 for hobbyist ...

Thoughts on cnc converted MH22 for hobbyist ...

Hi all - first post, but have been lurking on and off for a while.

I am a hobbyist/tinkerer and all-around amateur.
    I have a software developer background, but through my tinkering with Arduinos and Beaglebones I found an interest in making brackets, cases etc. for my electronics projects.

I have an EMCO Compact 5 with the milling attachment which is "okay" for turning/milling small plastic/aluminium parts but it is too small for the parts I want to make.

I would like to mill aluminium parts up to 280 x 150 x 50 mm and within better tolerances than the EMCO can achieve.
    I have been looking at some cnc converted Optimum machines and the MH22 looks like a good option:
    German seller here -> MH22 sets

I am partial to getting the machine in Germany due to prices, shipping cost and (God forbid) warranty cases. I live in Denmark.

I am curious about your thoughts on the Optimum MH22 (or alternatives) and also if investing in the extra options of the Hiwin ball screws and brushless spindle are justifiable for a discerning hobbyist such as myself.

Hope to get some good inputs on this pleasant dilemma

Re: Thoughts on cnc converted MH22 for hobbyist ...

As far as price is concerned, its always going to be cost effective to build your own cnc. Your alot closer to china so it shouldnt be too expensive to get mill castings to convert.

The mill itself looks ok but I don't like the conversion kits it has fitted.
    Motor systems it has seem under-powered too. I see at least 4nm on this size machine at a minimum when belted. 8nm when direct drive.

Better off getting one similar to a PM25MV and converting it yourself.

Thanks for the replies - really appreciated.