585,743 active members*
4,956 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > First-timer: Machine for PCB Milling (Primarily)

First-timer: Machine for PCB Milling (Primarily)

Hi all, I am looking for recommendations for a first-time machine builder.

Purpose: My foremost interest is PCB milling and drilling for boards up to 4"x6" or so in size, using ordinary thru-hole construction. Most of my work has been in audio applications where you're not dealing with crazy-small SMT pads and traces, though I wouldn't object to improved accuracy if it can be obtained.

Secondarily I'm interested in ability to do limited work in acrylic or high-density foam for prototyping things like knobs, small panels/plates, that sort of thing. If I can work in aluminum I'd be very happy but I don't expect it.

Skills and capabilities: I'm a software developer by trade and (very) amateur electronics hobbyist, so I feel reasonably comfortable in my ability to piece the electrical bits together. Mechanically I am competent in wood, while my father has a very good shop and can help doing high precision work. I also have a friend who owns a commercial machine shop with (I think) 5-axis CNC, laser cutters, etc. I don't have free run of the place and it's 100mi from where I live, but if I need one or a few parts done, it's not a showstopper.

Budget: Would prefer to keep it as low as possible. Knowing that most DIY projects end up costing twice as much as I start out thinking they will cost, I'd like to target $200-$300. I have a good spare Dremel and lots of ATX PSUs laying around, but I'd prefer something that did not require too much scrounging to meet a budget as I prefer to spend my time building and not shopping.