585,685 active members*
4,860 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Noob 4-axis questions

I've been running a 3 axis (X/Y/Z) CNC machine for a few years, so I'm reasonably comfortable with basic 3 axis CAD and CAM. For a specific application I'm considering building a 4 axis machine

With reference to the images below, I'm looking at what is essentially a CNC lathe (parts held along the X axis, spun as axis A), with a spindle that can travel up and down (axis Z) and along the length of the object to turn (axis X). I'd like to also be able to rotate the spindle around the Y axis (Axis B). The spindle centre would remain in the XZ plane - i.e. it cannot move forward/backward on the Y axis (essentially like a 5 axis machine, but where Y would always be 0).

Attachment 409152 Attachment 409154

I'm assuming https://www.cnczone.com/forums/uncat...70276-cam.html might be relevant in terms of choosing CAM software, but as a "rotational axis noob" I'm trying to get my head around how the machine would be set up in the CAM software - as it would need to understand the centre of rotation of the spindle (axis B), the tool protrusion from that centre, and (I assume) some data on the dimensions of the spindle body and gantry, in order to avoid collisions. E.g.. "if I tip the spindle by 90 degrees so the cutter is horizontal, can I reach the bottom of a bowl without the machine colliding with the workpiece"?

Anyone care to educate me how this is done? It's all much easier in the 3 axis world!

Re: Noob 4-axis questions

You might be overthinking this. Usually when setting up a 4-axis job, you center Z and Y on the center of the A axis, with X zeroed to the left side, so you don't run into the rotary table as long as X values are positive. If you're tipping the spindle assembly, that requires adding a 5tj axis; it's not something you normally do in 4-axis machining.
    Andrew Werby
    Website

Re: Noob 4-axis questions

Quote Originally Posted by awerby View Post