585,753 active members*
4,597 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Reverse Engineer Smart Cool

The Tormach SmartCool appears to be a great tool but, as a mostly hobbyist, I can't justify its cost. Has anyone investigated reverse engineering it?.

Re: Reverse Engineer Smart Cool

That thread was my original inspiration! BTW my Leonardo now convinces PP that it is a SmartCool and it understands coolant on/off, alt-U, alt-D, etc.

While creating some digital output lines using the extra port already available on the MESA card this thought passed through my mind also. So I dug deeper into this idea.

First, I don't think this is a good marketing idea. There just is not enough volume to justify it, hence the high cost that Tormach charges. If you're using your machine in a business venture & this product will really improve your bottom line cost is not going to be a problem.

For the rest of us, yeah, it could be implemented pretty easily. It's really just a coding issue and the hardware is off-the-shelf stuff with a little fabrication, but hey, that's what we do ...

So all we need is a stepper motor hanging onto the spindle with an adapter to hold our coolant/mist line - nothing to that. So after nosing around a bit in PP my first thought was to use the available I/O on the MESA card to drive the stepper motor. There are several step generators already programmed in the FPGA that can be used for this purpose. With some modifications to PP this could done pretty easily since the framework is already there.

Another approach is to use a separate micro-controller such as Teensy or ItsBitsy to emulate the product that Tormach offers. PP would not have to be modified but one would have to code the micro to emulate the Tormach unit. Depending on your coding skills this could be more difficult than modifying PP.