585,690 active members*
4,808 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Bridgeport Machines > Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills > ANOTHER Bridgeport Mill conversion ( Build )
Page 1 of 2 12

Hybrid View

ANOTHER Bridgeport Mill conversion ( Build )

Hi guys,

Think i have gathered enough information to throw this post out there.. Picked up a 3 axis tilty head Boss ( will be delivered tomorrow... so pics will follow ) after reading and re reading many of the excellent threads here i feel like i have decided on my upgrade path. First, i want to say that there are more than a few talented people here and i am inspired to up my game after seeing some of the things you have built and designed. and i want to thank you all ALREADY for all the info that i have absorbed ( or at least i think i have absorbed )

im intimidated on keeping the original servos .. ( im not that good at electronics and the power supply kinda freaks me out ) not to mention all the wiring. )

so here goes

Bridgeport Boss 3 axis Mill
    Linux CNC
    Mesa Cards 5 axis ( still on the fence on pci or network )
    DMM Servos

hoping to have power lube / fog buster / tool height / draw bar automated

Looking forward to having you all along for the ride !

Joe

Re: ANOTHER Bridgeport Mill conversion ( Build )

Machine is here !!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 20190126_132344.jpg  

here is one of the motors... there are no external tags with model numbers etc on them
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 20190126_132403.jpg  

Quote Originally Posted by mongoose View Post
    here is one of the motors... there are no external tags with model numbers etc on them
    They are steppers, looks like a well looked after Boss 5
    Mactec54

just pulled off the y axis stepper... reached out to DMM to see what they would recommend

any reason to try and keep the y axis lock and the travel dial ?