584,837 active members*
5,591 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Community Club House > International / Regional Forums > USA Club House > going to buy cheap chinese C02 laser system

Wink going to buy cheap chinese C02 laser system

Not even sure if I'm in the right place but I have been doing CNC for a few years now.. have a business making acrylic signs with LED's but thinking about getting into glass and wood laser engraving.. soo many to choose from and just not sure what to look for..

The china ones are sub $1500 when the name brands run around 8,000 (rough estimate of course)

Which Sub 1500 ones should I buy..

I would like at least a 400mmx600mm one ..

maybe 100w c02?

I wish someone would say "buy this one" .. its cheap and awesome and has lots of support.. lol..

I'm in phoenix.. have the xcarve and looking for people to hang out with to discuss this stuff maybe in person..

32nd st and union hills..

Thanks.
    Pete

Re: going to buy cheap chinese C02 laser system

I have the Shenhui SH-G350, which is commonly known as the blue eBay 50W (500x300mm) laser. I have been using it non-stop for the last 2.5 years cutting 1/8" & 1/4" acrylic, delrin, and etching aluminum and stainless steel (using a coating called Cermark). It has worked incredibly well. In my opinion, the key items to consider with these Chinese lasers are:
    1. The controller. The Ruida controller (see link for the control panel below) seems to be the best supported controller, and works great with the 3rd party control software LightBurn.
    https://www.ebay.com/i/122872943279?...r=423762208265
    2. The control software. The Ruida controller comes with a program called RDWorks, which works pretty well. Even better, there is now a 3rd party software developed in the US called LightBurn (mentioned above), which is amazingly feature-rich and well-designed.