496,275 active members
6,183 visitors online
Register for free
Login
496,275 active members
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    alienturtle
    Guest

    VMX30 and BMC3017 question

    Hey guys. Iv been doing some searching around but cant quite find what im looking for so hopefully you guys can help

    I have a chance to purchase a pretty nice VMX30 and also BMC3017 for a pretty cheap price. The BMC30 i believe is in the 2000 model year range but im not sure on the VMX. newer i think

    Both machines have the 2 screen console that says Ultimax on them

    The issue is for certain reasons the CPU computer side has been removed. (the aluminum box in the lower left corner of the control cabinet.

    The VMX still has the cage and a few things plugged in but all the cards have been removed. looks like 8 or so slots are empty with some ribbon cables hanging

    the BMC is a little worse with the entire cage and everything taken out. Just connectors hanging. Everything else in the cabinets are untouched

    If i get these machines what are the chances of finding / getting the computer parts to get them up and running? and what am i even looking for?


    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3000

    Re: VMX30 and BMC3017 question

    If the machines are in good mechanical shape both of those sound like good candidates for a complete controls retrofit. There are quite a few options available.

    Some pictures of the motors (data plates), and whatever is left in the panels would help us to help you.

    Buy them for scrap price or less.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    169

    Re: VMX30 and BMC3017 question

    For the VMX30 if the cage is there you can get w winmax upgrade kit for it for around 9000-10000 dollars, comes with all the cards except a IOIF card.

    For the if no rack or even with the rack it is not upgrade-able, so it is a good for a control retrofit.

  4. #4
    alienturtle
    Guest

    Re: VMX30 and BMC3017 question

    Alright thanks for the help guys. This machine will be used in a home hobby shop setting with no real production work. There is also a bmc40 that has been left to rust away that i can probably get my hands on also. This machine has the computer in the cabinet un touched but the drives look different than the Yaskawa drives in the VMX30. If i got ahold of both could i use the computer out of the BMC40 in the VMX30? The aluminum cage looks the same between both. They both also have the same Ultimax console.

    What kind of retrofits are people doing to these machines?

    Appreciate the help guys. Thanks

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3000

    Re: VMX30 and BMC3017 question

    The short answer is: Maybe. If you have all of the documentation for both systems, and have CNC controls repair/service experience then you might have a chance at getting it to work. The odds of different machine control systems being a direct bolt-in are small.

    There are a number of retrofit options. Centroid products would be worth a look. There is also Mach3/4, LinuxCNC, Camsoft. Controller hardware could be Dynomotion, Mesa, Galil.

    The first thing I would do is choose the one machine that is mechanically good, and then take an inventory of what parts are left of the controls, motors, and drives. After that choose a control system that is most compatible with the hardware that is existing.

    The machine with the Yaskawa drives (and hopefully motors) might be the best choice, at least the documentation might be available for them. Replacing motors and drives is not out of the question, there are a lot of options available. DMM or Clearpath motors would be good possibilities.

    The success of this operation is going to be dependant on your budget, experience, and the mechanical condition of the machine.





  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    169

    Re: VMX30 and BMC3017 question

    It could be done if the computer works. If it is one of the old ones that has CPU back plane, I forget what mother board it is. It may have a dead battery that may or may not be replaceable depending on your skills. Not ever really sure it would work. If the motion board it self is bad then it is out of the question 9000.00 to replace it, MX4 motion boards are really hard to find on ebay.
    If you could pick up the VMX30 for 5000 or less Putting another 10000 in would not even be a question. you would have a great machine for the price of a tormach or a novakon. depending on the year model it will have 10Krpm or 12Krpm spindle.

    But all this would depend on what shape the machine is in mechanically how are the ball screws and bearings, what shape are the linear rails in. What about the servo drives and spindle drive. get the spindle drive repaired it is about 2500-2800 per section inverter and converter, Servo drives cot 800 to 1400 to get repaired. what about the console is it in good shape? If i knew the machine was good other than the parts missing in the hurco rack i would go for it. but if not could be 15,000- 20,000 to get it running, at that point start looking start looking for a used machine that runs.

Similar Threads

  1. Postprocesor for HURCO VMX30
    By Nenad123 in forum HURCO
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-06-2018, 09:31 AM
  2. VMX30 ERRATIC Drive Shutdown
    By jex mfg in forum HURCO
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-02-2012, 09:50 PM
  3. vmx30
    By suzanne in forum HURCO
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-28-2007, 11:37 PM
  4. Hurco VMX30 Help
    By forrey45 in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-28-2006, 12:25 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •