502,817 active members
4,424 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 1 of 3 123
Results 1 to 12 of 29
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    33

    fanuc 18m 351 alarm

    I have a Supermax v65A with a fanuc 18MC controller.
    It used to produce a 351 x-axis alarm followed by a 414 alarm in X-axis. (most of the times, into a toolchange cycle).
    After a little investigation I found that the previous owner tried to replace the X encoder cable. Eventually, he didn't replace the whole cable but only half of it.
    I believed that was the problem together with some kind of cable-grounding error.
    I have replaced the cable by myself, but I still see from time to time a 351 x axis alarm, even when the machine is on and stoped (controller into MDI mode ).

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks
    Michael

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    33

    Re: fanuc 18m 351 alarm

    I swapped axis cables and error disappears.
    Any thoughts?

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    33

    Re: fanuc 18m 351 alarm

    Is it possible to have the problem due to a broken spark killer or diode, because most of the times, the alarm is happening during M06 cycle?
    Has anyone met anything similar?

    Thanks
    Michael

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    539

    Re: fanuc 18m 351 alarm

    try to put some ferite core on your encoder cables if you do not have,might be some noise on your wires.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    33

    Re: fanuc 18m 351 alarm

    I have tried ferrites but nothing changes.
    The fact that after I do a cable swap between X and Y axis and still the error is 351 x-axis alarm and not 351 y-axis alarm,I think it is not the servo drive.
    I have already tried a new encoder with no luck.
    Is this any possibility of a faulty CPU?

    Michael

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    539

    Re: fanuc 18m 351 alarm

    you should have 2 axis card control on the mainboard,1 is for 1,2 axis and one is for 3,4 axis.
    Swap them and see if the alarm goes to Z or 4th axis.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    33

    Re: fanuc 18m 351 alarm

    I have a 3 axis card.Which cables should I swap? Cables to motor, encoder and control cables?

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    539

    Re: fanuc 18m 351 alarm

    i was not talking about the driver that powers the motors,i was talking about the servo module cards from the main board,you should have 2 identical and u can swap them,just identify it and try.
    If you do not know and is hard for you to take out the mainboard just call Fanuc.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    33

    Re: fanuc 18m 351 alarm

    I swap servo module a20b-2902-00700 of 1/2 axis with the same module of 3/4 axis.Problem still the same and most of the cases when in or after a while of a toolchange cycle?
    The manual suggests when #5(STB) and #6(CRC) is 1 then
    a) signal cable is disconnected
    b) serial pulse coder is faulty
    3) main cpu board is faulty (i don't have option board 2)

    Maybe I must change the main CPU board or any module of it?

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    539

    Re: fanuc 18m 351 alarm

    When the tool change is executed ,the X and Y go to reference points?

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    33

    Re: fanuc 18m 351 alarm

    No, just where the program is interrupted, X and Y stop at whatever point they are,M06 is executed and then the program continues (if the error doesn't happen)
    The error would be happen anytime inside the m06 cycle, or just a few seconds after m06 ends.
    If I will run a program having m06 always with the same tool (avoiding toolchange) the error will happen again but some time later, let's say from 2mins to 15mins later.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    539

    Re: fanuc 18m 351 alarm

    did u have the machine grounded?i mean a solid wire from the main body to the centerline of factory ground?
    do you have equipment that is welding using same power line as the machine does?

Page 1 of 3 123

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2018, 09:15 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-10-2018, 09:21 PM
  3. Fanuc 6T-B alarm 402:servo Alarm
    By leiryll in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-03-2013, 08:52 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-12-2013, 09:12 AM
  5. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-13-2013, 03:32 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •