509,984 active members
3,021 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > EMCO CNC machines > EMCO Lathe > Retrofit of an EMCO 120 CNC lathe
Page 4 of 4 234
Results 37 to 45 of 45
  1. #37
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    116

    Re: Retrofit of an EMCO 120 CNC lathe

    OK, so I end up buying the SZGH-CNC1000TDb-2 controller. Now I have to install it.
    Do I really need to buy and fit linear scales to my lathe? Electronics are not my best subject, my lathe is a Neutron CNC CJK0640 if that help.

  2. #38

    Re: Retrofit of an EMCO 120 CNC lathe

    Hi,

    Not unless you want to feed the actual position back to the controller. My install was done without feedback and relies only on the servos for getting to the commanded position. You can setup backlash compensation and correct for leadscrew pitch errors in the controller too. That helps to minimize some of the issues with not having positional feedback.

    Cheers

  3. #39
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    116

    Re: Retrofit of an EMCO 120 CNC lathe

    Quote Originally Posted by mukanico View Post
    Hi,

    Not unless you want to feed the actual position back to the controller. My install was done without feedback and relies only on the servos for getting to the commanded position. You can setup backlash compensation and correct for leadscrew pitch errors in the controller too. That helps to minimize some of the issues with not having positional feedback.

    Cheers
    Thanks for that. My lathe's current controller doesn't seem to have any linear scales and I was hoping I didn't need them.

  4. #40
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    819

    Re: Retrofit of an EMCO 120 CNC lathe

    As has been said, scales only if you want. They won't actually get used for closing the loop, they will just provide feedback for out of position monitoring and errors. Does your control support them anyway? I thought the tdc had the feedback option and the tdb didn't.

  5. #41
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    116

    Re: Retrofit of an EMCO 120 CNC lathe

    Quote Originally Posted by Hood View Post
    As has been said, scales only if you want. They won't actually get used for closing the loop, they will just provide feedback for out of position monitoring and errors. Does your control support them anyway? I thought the tdc had the feedback option and the tdb didn't.
    Hood, you may be right I'm not sure. Reading the "manual" it mentioned them and looking at the controller there looks to be a socket for scales.

  6. #42
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    819

    Re: Retrofit of an EMCO 120 CNC lathe

    Quote Originally Posted by Rick_B View Post
    Hood, you may be right I'm not sure. Reading the "manual" it mentioned them and looking at the controller there looks to be a socket for scales.
    I am not sure either, there doesn't really seem to be much information on the actual differences between TDC and TDB controllers. I have the TDC and it has CN13 socket for feedback and I was lead to believe that the TDB did not have it but I also remembering seeing that it was an option.

    I do have a glass scale hooked up to mine on the X axis and I have my servo drives encoder output hooked up on the Z axis and thus both have feedback for out of position checking purposes

    The reason I put the scale on the X was because I was not getting tools in exactly the right position after switching on, once set up they would be spot on for the rest of the time the control was on but shut down and restart then home and call a tool to go to a set position and it would be slightly out and you had to adjust the offset again. I fitted the scale to see if I could work out why and it turned out I had a parameter for homing set wrong, it was not looking for the encoders Index pulse. Once I had that set correctly then even after a restart/home the tools are exactly where the are meant to be.

    Just for your or anyone else's information, when set correctly you will see the axis move to the home switch, it will back off slowly, it will then momentarily stop when it sees the switch close and then it will again start to move slowly until it sees the index pulse. If the last movement doesn't happen then the parameters for homing is not set correctly for Index homing.

  7. #43
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    116

    Re: Retrofit of an EMCO 120 CNC lathe

    Quote Originally Posted by Hood View Post
    I am not sure either, there doesn't really seem to be much information on the actual differences between TDC and TDB controllers. I have the TDC and it has CN13 socket for feedback and I was lead to believe that the TDB did not have it but I also remembering seeing that it was an option.

    I do have a glass scale hooked up to mine on the X axis and I have my servo drives encoder output hooked up on the Z axis and thus both have feedback for out of position checking purposes

    The reason I put the scale on the X was because I was not getting tools in exactly the right position after switching on, once set up they would be spot on for the rest of the time the control was on but shut down and restart then home and call a tool to go to a set position and it would be slightly out and you had to adjust the offset again. I fitted the scale to see if I could work out why and it turned out I had a parameter for homing set wrong, it was not looking for the encoders Index pulse. Once I had that set correctly then even after a restart/home the tools are exactly where the are meant to be.

    Just for your or anyone else's information, when set correctly you will see the axis move to the home switch, it will back off slowly, it will then momentarily stop when it sees the switch close and then it will again start to move slowly until it sees the index pulse. If the last movement doesn't happen then the parameters for homing is not set correctly for Index homing.
    I will have to have another look at my controller but I'm sure it has a CN13 plug. I do not know about the options, all I did was send SZGH what my current controller was as well as it's Chinese manual and they told me this is what I need.

    Hood, with your home switches, did you use 1 for your home switch and 1 for your limit switch? I was hoping I could get away with using the 1 for both as the machine already has X + & - and Y + & - limit switch fitted.

  8. #44
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    819

    Re: Retrofit of an EMCO 120 CNC lathe

    Quote Originally Posted by Rick_B View Post
    I will have to have another look at my controller but I'm sure it has a CN13 plug. I do not know about the options, all I did was send SZGH what my current controller was as well as it's Chinese manual and they told me this is what I need.

    Hood, with your home switches, did you use 1 for your home switch and 1 for your limit switch? I was hoping I could get away with using the 1 for both as the machine already has X + & - and Y + & - limit switch fitted.

    Yes I have a separate home for each axis and a single limit for each axis.

    On mine the limits are triggered at either end so act as both positive and negative for that axis. The control knows which direction it is travelling so will stop with a limit error and only allow you to go the opposite direction.

  9. #45
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    116

    Re: Retrofit of an EMCO 120 CNC lathe

    The current controller on my machine has it that, but it dose not have home switches which is a pain.

Page 4 of 4 234

Similar Threads

  1. Emco retrofit
    By Eatonbrayer in forum PlanetCNC
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-17-2019, 03:42 PM
  2. Emco PC Mill 50 Retrofit.
    By propellanttech in forum Emco Mills
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-24-2018, 01:10 AM
  3. Emco Unimat lathe CNC retrofit
    By ZeroBacklash in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 09-03-2018, 03:04 PM
  4. Emco Compact 5 Retrofit
    By Daniel.y in forum EMCO Lathe
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-14-2015, 12:53 AM
  5. EMCO CNC5 Retrofit...
    By oldslotgeek in forum Mini Lathe
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-31-2007, 01:52 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •