502,307 active members
5,729 visitors online
Register for free
Login

Thread: LCD Monitor

Page 1 of 4 123
Results 1 to 12 of 38
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    64

    LCD Monitor

    Hi Guys,
    Has anyone out there tried to replace the CRT monitor with a LCD monitor?
    Can it be done? If not how come? Maybe Neal can shed some light (pun
    not intended) on the subject.
    Thanks,
    Gary

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23107
    Depends on the original CRT monitor signal format, and horizontal/vert sweep rate, If standard analogue VGA and up it should be no problem, The lower sweep rate monitors or older EGA TTL types will pose a problem.
    Also, if built in CRT monitor on OEM dedicated systems the signal pin out as well as the standard has to be known or 'scoped to document it.
    Al.
    I just noticed its Fadal Forum, but the above will still apply.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1194
    IIRC their was a person on ebay offering a LCD for the older Fadal's. I think he wanted $2200 for the monitor and conversion kit.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    99

    LCD

    i found this info on this site and now i'll share it back to this site.
    check out earthlcd.com
    the price for an lcd for my machines was 1700$ from the manufacturer
    and 250$ from earthlcd. they sell bare bones monitors. i have since bought
    and installed 8 of them.
    good luck.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1194
    Fantastic! What model did you end up using and was their anything special about the pinout?

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    99

    monitor

    for me there was nothing special. other than the brackets to hold it on.
    it was just a plug in. and a 120v plug. the monitors that i got have 2 or 3 options for plugs. i've had to buy 10.4in 12.1in 14in and all were the same.
    the web site shows all. i saved thousands of $$$$ probably over 10,000$.
    they have lots of options, they have touch screen too.
    you could even buy everything seperate, monitor, boards, plugs, and build it yourself, i had to do that for 2 old cnc cylidrical grinders. call and ask about your specific machine they might know about it. the are in california.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    65

    Fadal Monitors

    Funny you should bring this up.The monitor on my fadal died AGAIN the other day.Its the old green monochrome deal,RCA/BNC plug,composite video.In the past,Ive used an old Apple or Wyse terminal as a replacement.Anyway,I bought a VGA adapter box from Startech,its intended to allow you to use a svga monitor with older video games.I pluged it into the fadal video card and an ancient IBM vga monitor and got white text-not pretty but useable.
    There are LCD monitors with BNC inputs(used for security cameras) available.I dont know how a standard off the shelf LCD would work with this set up,but its worth a try.There are other converter boxes out there with more adjustment.
    I suspect Fadal changed the video card output to vga,as most later model Fadals have color,an option might be to change the video card,it also might be really expensive.
    Most of the composite LCD's I found were 15"-to big for the pendent.Maybe a screen for a laptop?

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    142
    Looks like I am in the same boat.
    Turned the monitor on, and we all KNOW that smell!!! Found a small campfire on one of the boards in the Monitor cabinet, not a good thing!
    So, on to the LCD upgrade. How are they holding up for you?
    What other items were needed to complete the install, or was it a turn key install?
    Thanks for sharing the link,
    Smitty

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    142
    Bit the bullet and got the LCD upgrade. 350.00 with power supply and 2nd day shipping. Will post the install and any issues I may have, with my luck lately, should be a plenty!
    Smitty

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    142
    Sorry for the late reply, either a lot of Fadals don't break, or there really aren't that many of them, as this Section of the forum is slow.
    Here are some pics of my LCD install. I could have done a better job on the outer bezel, but it works.
    Called LCD Earth, told them what I had, and they sent me what I needed. Install is as easy as it gets. You will need a BCA to RCA adaptor from Radio shack. I also got the power supply from LCD earth, did not want to deal with tapping into the machine for power.
    Monitor works, saved about 150.00 bucks!
    Hopes this helps,
    Smitty
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 100_0424.JPG   100_0425.JPG   100_0427.JPG   100_0428.JPG  

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    530
    Thanks for posting this :cheers:

    The monitor on my Fadal VMC15 has been on the dim side for the last few years. It also has started to burn in a little. I've been wondering how much longer till it craps out.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    99
    anyone have more details about connecting LCD
    monitor to replace the old one

Page 1 of 4 123

Similar Threads

  1. Replace old CRT monitor to LCD monitor
    By =aike= in forum Okuma
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-07-2015, 10:26 AM
  2. RPM not see on the monitor
    By danielmk333 in forum Fadal
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-21-2012, 07:48 PM
  3. Bad Monitor
    By eded59 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-21-2010, 08:44 PM
  4. monitor
    By rusticr6 in forum Haas Lathes
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-25-2007, 01:06 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •