584,841 active members*
4,312 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Hybrid View

What now? (g-code generation/creation)

Hi there, I am new to CAD/CAM and I have been teaching my self how to create parts in different software.

I have been creating a part with the intention of using 'EXTRUDED POLYSTYRENE' as the material. Now most software costs so at the moment I have settled with using FreeCAD.

Now part I have designed requires more than a 3axis machine, so I am using a 4 axis, 8 bit tool changer, 5 inch gantry CNC machine.
    Unfortunately FreeCAD does not support 4axis machine g-code generation.

The designs are 3D and the files are saved as .FCStd, so I do not think I can upload them here.

I need to create the g-code or at least generate it quite soon but I have no idea how to or what to use.

Can I have some advice or help please?

Thank you

Re: What now? (g-code generation/creation)

Fusion 360, full professional CAD/CAM software. It's free to hobbyists and supports up to 5 axis.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Last time I tried a 4 axis tool path with Fusion 360 I learned it's 3 axis +1, meaning 3 axis plus indexing. I was hoping for 4 axis simultaneous.
    That leads to the suspicion 5 axis is 3axis +2 indexing. If that describes the type of tool path you need try Fusion, you'll learn to like it.
    Anyone who says "It only goes together one way" has no imagination.

Quote Originally Posted by cyclestart View Post
    Last time I tried a 4 axis tool path with Fusion 360 I learned it's 3 axis +1, meaning 3 axis plus indexing. I was hoping for 4 axis simultaneous.
    That leads to the suspicion 5 axis is 3axis +2 indexing. If that describes the type of tool path you need try Fusion, you'll learn to like it.
    Check this out, all done in Fusion, full 5 axis. The 5 axis stuff starts at about 00:05:40 in the video.

Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA