584,829 active members*
5,175 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Running a custom Mcode in the background?

Hi all. so I'm fairly new to macro programming in general, but I find myself in need of some help. I'm trying to emulate the Haas spindle speed variation that they use on their lathes...but on a mill. I have a macro that works to vary the spindle speed and will run indefinitely, but I'm having a hard time figuring out how to make it run in the background while the main program code executes. I'm sure there must be a way to do this in a while loop, but for the life of me, I can't seem to think of a solution that works. Ideally I'd love to apply my program to a custom mcode (I know how to do that) so I can use it on a few different programs and have another mcode that cancels it.

Any thoughts or tips would be appreciated. Thanks.

Re: Running a custom Mcode in the background?

hello cs900, generally such oscilations are for linear axis and for rotary axis; the difference is that rotary axis requires much more response time then a linear axis, so, to make the process fast, you may need to use small oscilations and compute the response time

once you can measure the response time, you may be able to adjust the segmentation of the linear axis, at least theoreticall

so, if you run at 2000rpm, and change to 1800, what duration is required, and what is the rpm value when cnc confirms rpm change ? ± 15% eg

if you can't measure such stuff, then is a shot-in-the-dark: it may work when cutting air, but it may succumb when cutting the part; however, in both situations, is hard to tell what is happening, if you don't know the response time ... even so, it can be done, but i preffer working with numbers