585,712 active members*
4,068 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Haas Machines > Haas Mills > HRT210 & InventorCAM problem (sort of)
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    3

    HRT210 & InventorCAM problem (sort of)

    Do I always need to have my WCS zero in the center of the workpiece when programming in InventorHSM for the HRT210.

    The code only works when I do it like that, I can't seem to get the right code when I set my Z zero on the top of the piece. and Y at the center of the piece.

    Example of codes for 1 hole in each side of a square.

    This is what the code looks like when my zeroes are in the center of the piece.
    N110 (Drill1)
    N112 T1 M6
    N114 S5000 M3
    N116 G54
    N118 M11
    N120 G0 A0.
    N122 M10
    N124 M8
    N126 G0 X-7. Y0.
    N128 G43 Z65.5 H1
    N130 G0 Z55.5
    N132 G98 G81 X-7. Y0. Z-0.5 R55. F1000.
    N134 G80
    N136 G0 Z65.5
    N138 G53 G0 Z0.

    N140 (Drill1 2)
    N142 M11
    N144 G0 A270.
    N146 M10
    N148 G0 X-7. Y-0.5
    N150 G43 Z66. H1
    N152 G0 Z56.
    N154 G98 G81 X-7. Y0. Z0. R55. F1000.
    N156 G80
    N158 G0 Z66.
    N160 G53 G0 Z0.

    N162 (Drill1 3)
    N164 M11
    N166 G0 A180.
    N168 M10
    N170 G0 X-7. Y0.
    N172 G43 Z65.5 H1
    N174 G0 Z55.5
    N176 G98 G81 X-7. Y0. Z0.5 R55. F1000.
    N178 G80
    N180 G0 Z65.5
    N182 G53 G0 Z0.

    N184 (Drill1 4)
    N186 M11
    N188 G0 A90.
    N190 M10
    N192 G0 X-7. Y0.
    N194 G43 Z66. H1
    N196 G0 Z56.
    N198 G98 G81 X-7. Y0. Z0. R55. F1000.
    N200 G80
    N202 G0 Z66.


    And now this is what it looks like with my Z at the top of the piece (Which to me is the one that makes the most sense. Not having to offset my Z by half of the workpiece)
    Here the Y should always be at Y0. But it moves to Y50. and Y-50. To do the holes on the sides. Also the retract plane goes to places where I don't want it to go.

    (Drill1)
    N30 T1 M6
    N35 S5000 M3
    N40 G54
    N45 M11
    N50 G0 A0.
    N55 M10
    N60 M8
    N70 G0 X-7. Y0.
    N75 G43 Z15. H1
    N85 G0 Z5.
    N90 G98 G81 X-7. Y0. Z-59. R4. F1000.
    N95 G80
    N100 G0 Z15.
    N105 G53 G0 Z0.

    (Drill1 2)
    N115 M11
    N120 G0 A270.
    N125 M10
    N135 G0 X-7. Y-50.
    N140 G43 Z66. H1
    N150 G0 Z56.
    N155 G98 G81 X-7. Y-50. Z0. R55. F1000.
    N160 G80
    N165 G0 Z66.
    N170 G53 G0 Z0.

    (Drill1 3)
    N180 M11
    N185 G0 A180.
    N190 M10
    N200 G0 X-7. Y0.
    N205 G43 Z116. H1
    N215 G0 Z106.
    N220 G98 G81 X-7. Y0. Z51. R106. F1000.
    N225 G80
    N230 G0 Z116.
    N235 G53 G0 Z0.

    (Drill1 4)
    N245 M11
    N250 G0 A90.
    N255 M10
    N265 G0 X-7. Y50.
    N270 G43 Z66. H1
    N280 G0 Z56.
    N285 G98 G81 X-7. Y50. Z0. R55. F1000.
    N290 G80
    N295 G0 Z66.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    178

    Re: HRT210 & InventorCAM problem (sort of)

    I don't use Inventor or HSM, but I've always been told that when using a 4th axis, program to the center of the part as zero. I can't remember the explanation, but I remember that when I try using the top of the part as zero, I always have problems ( usually scraps a part!) I hate having z moves anywhere except off the top of the part, but have faith in your cam system and you should be good. I've made a 6.00 block which is the center height of our 4th axis, and use it to set the tools off. Works fine.Hope this helps

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    3

    Re: HRT210 & InventorCAM problem (sort of)

    Quote Originally Posted by greggv View Post
    I don't use Inventor or HSM, but I've always been told that when using a 4th axis, program to the center of the part as zero. I can't remember the explanation, but I remember that when I try using the top of the part as zero, I always have problems ( usually scraps a part!) I hate having z moves anywhere except off the top of the part, but have faith in your cam system and you should be good. I've made a 6.00 block which is the center height of our 4th axis, and use it to set the tools off. Works fine.Hope this helps
    Seems to be that way at least, the code posted up top works exactly as it is supposed to - the lower one(has the Z on top of the part) and I can just see from the code that it's not going to do what I want it to.
    But thanks though, I guess I'll figure out the center height then and use a block as you said, that seems at least a lot more rational than probing the top of the piece and dividing it by two and subtracting that from the Z offset.

    Just couldn't easily find any answers anywhere as to why and if the WCS needed to be in the center of the piece. That clears it up for me at least, thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. hrt210?
    By Brendan in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-09-2012, 02:41 AM
  2. anybody tried Inventorcam?
    By mattfurches in forum Uncategorised CAD Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-22-2012, 11:55 PM
  3. InventorCAM / Post Inventorcam Mach3
    By heimel in forum Uncategorised CAM Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-12-2011, 08:33 AM
  4. HRT210
    By rrbmachining in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-2011, 02:57 PM
  5. Trying to sort out an angularity problem.
    By CoolHand in forum DynaTorch
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-06-2010, 01:45 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •