510,039 active members
2,632 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > SmoothStepper USB Motion Control > ESS and MB2 BOB Feed and Speed changes via pots /w Mach3?
Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    477

    ESS and MB2 BOB Feed and Speed changes via pots /w Mach3?

    My cheap and cheerful chinese AKZ250 USB Motion Card, that came with my CNC Router, had these features available and I found them useful. for fine tuning Ali cutting.
    I have since upgraded to this ESS/MB2 combo.
    Have read through the manuals and Googled but not seen anything.

    Anybody know if its is possible with this combo?
    I assume, if it was, that I would need to configure a couple Analog Inputs to use for them?

    If not, are there any other ways to get these features? Moving the sliders with a mouse,in Mach 3 don't appear to work.
    Don't really like that method anyway, but wil go that way if I have no choice.

    Steve

  2. #2
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34611

    Re: ESS and MB2 BOB Feed and Speed changes via pots /w Mach3?

    I don't think the ESS has analog inputs?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    477

    Re: ESS and MB2 BOB Feed and Speed changes via pots /w Mach3?

    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    I don't think the ESS has analog inputs?
    I don't think so. That may be me sunk......dunno.
    Not sure if there are any other ways to do it.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    477

    Re: ESS and MB2 BOB Feed and Speed changes via pots /w Mach3?

    I dropped CNC Room an email and they say a Pokeys57E with their PoBOB will do this.
    I guess I have some reading to do. I've never dabbled with this stuff.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    477

    Re: ESS and MB2 BOB Feed and Speed changes via pots /w Mach3?

    I found a keyboard from Polabs that uses push button to raise and lower feed and speed.
    Then I stumbled on a dedicated keyboard for Mach 3 that has rotary encoders for feed and speed. Just what I was looking for.
    Have send an email asking for a price. I'm guessing it wil not be cheap....lol

    Steve

    Attachment 419252

  6. #6
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34611

    Re: ESS and MB2 BOB Feed and Speed changes via pots /w Mach3?

    You could just buy some cheap rotary encoders, but you'd need to write a macro to get them to control the FRO and SO.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    477

    Re: ESS and MB2 BOB Feed and Speed changes via pots /w Mach3?

    Thanks Gerry.
    Any clues on where to start and howvto interface with Mach 3?
    No experience in this area but can do some reading and learn.

    Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34611

    Re: ESS and MB2 BOB Feed and Speed changes via pots /w Mach3?

    No, I took a quick look and didn't see any macros for doing this, but I know it's possible. I guess you just look at the encoder position DRO's, and adjust the FRO accordingly?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    477

    Re: ESS and MB2 BOB Feed and Speed changes via pots /w Mach3?

    Just an update to this thread, I think I have managed to obtain these functions. (Not tested on actual machine yet, but it appears to work on my own PC.
    It uses pots connected to an Arduino with Modbus comms via usb to the PC running Mach 3.

    I did find a guide and code that someone had done provided free on the net, it assumed one had particular knowledge on all aspect of this project so it skipped over some parts. I did not have all of that knowledge/ experience, so I found it a bit of a struggle.
    There also a couple of simple but important omissions in the steps that made a couple of steps more difficult than they had to be.

    I have electrical/ electronic experience, but I am a newbie when it comes to Arduino and Modbus comms. I am thinking of writing my own comprehensive instruction set so:
    1. I can reinstate this feature if/when I have to reinstall Mach 3.... and
    2. Others will be able to do this project with also less frustration than I did...:0)

    Steve.

    Attachment 431434

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    477

    Re: ESS and MB2 BOB Feed and Speed changes via pots /w Mach3?

    Got this finished today. It works very well.
    Had quite a few challenges, due to lack of experience in certain areas but got there in the end.

    Steve

    Attachment 431862

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Finished (2).jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	74.6 KB 
ID:	431864

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    140

    Re: ESS and MB2 BOB Feed and Speed changes via pots /w Mach3?

    Great job mate

Similar Threads

  1. Mach3 - Homing speed much much slower than jog speed
    By SouthPark in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-23-2017, 04:46 PM
  2. Doing my head in with Z speed uccnc mach. Speed Feed
    By curiosity22 in forum Australia, New Zealand Club House
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 12-26-2015, 02:14 AM
  3. feed and speed for high speed
    By Darth Yoda in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-05-2012, 05:14 PM
  4. How do you add external control pots on Mach3
    By neilw20 in forum Mach Software (ArtSoft software)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-01-2011, 09:37 PM
  5. How to set feed speed
    By IMK1230 in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-02-2009, 12:41 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •