521,608 active members*
2,930 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    12

    Wiring problem with servo drive

    Hi ,
    my servo drive won't power up
    The servo motor are short circuit

    Can anybody help me with this wiring.i follow dmm wiring but still dont power up.please help.

    Thank you.

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4253

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Can you post a picture of your wiring?
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    12

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Hi freind,

    The servo motor been short circuit.

    That puzzle me.

    I think i follow the wiring diagram exactly.

    I need an advice.

    Thank you

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Community Moderator Jim Dawson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    4253

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    I don't see any obvious wiring errors. With the power on, are you getting 230V across R and S, and across L1 and L2? Do you have 230V to your breaker?
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11116

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Quote Originally Posted by bustamam View Post
    Hi freind,

    The servo motor been short circuit.

    That puzzle me.

    I think i follow the wiring diagram exactly.

    I need an advice.

    Thank you

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
    You have not Main Power supply Ground or Motor Ground connected you also don't have the Logic power filter or protection in place


    Check the servo motor connections A B C and pins for the servo motor wire connections at the servo drive if these are not correct then you will get a short and can cause damage

    What is your max Voltage supply ???
    Mactec54

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    12

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Hi mactec54,

    Thank you for your prompt reply.

    My maximun voltage is 240v.

    I will try your advice.

    I really apreciate your help.

    Thank you

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    12

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post
    I don't see any obvious wiring errors. With the power on, are you getting 230V across R and S, and across L1 and L2? Do you have 230V to your breaker?
    Hi jim,

    I have to check back the voltage .

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11116

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Quote Originally Posted by bustamam View Post
    Hi mactec54,

    Thank you for your prompt reply.

    My maximun voltage is 240v.

    I will try your advice.

    I really apreciate your help.

    Thank you

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
    The Power filter and protection for the logic wiring won't change anything, it's just a requirement once you do the install
    Mactec54

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    12

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Hi mactec,
    Very good morning to you,

    As usually i need you advice on my cnc retrofit.

    The problem is the z axis.
    I mounted the dmm servo motor with brake on the the z axis.
    I use 24v power supply only for the brake itself.
    The problem is when i turn on the computer and mach 3 software
    THEN i turn on the servo motor it drop down.
    Im using the 30mm ballscrew,1 kw with brake dmn AC servo motor.

    Is it the software setting in mach3 or tuning servo motor in dmm tuning software that i miss.

    Thank you mactec54.

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11116

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Quote Originally Posted by bustamam View Post
    Hi mactec,
    Very good morning to you,

    As usually i need you advice on my cnc retrofit.

    The problem is the z axis.
    I mounted the dmm servo motor with brake on the the z axis.
    I use 24v power supply only for the brake itself.
    The problem is when i turn on the computer and mach 3 software
    THEN i turn on the servo motor it drop down.
    Im using the 30mm ballscrew,1 kw with brake dmn AC servo motor.

    Is it the software setting in mach3 or tuning servo motor in dmm tuning software that i miss.

    Thank you mactec54.

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
    When the servo is energized the brake should release if the servo can not hold the load, it may be tuning try and add some more Gain but this must be a balance of the 3 settings

    If the servo can't hold the load after changing the Parameters, then you may need a counter balance of some kind to help with the load
    Mactec54

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    1

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    maybe output of servo (U,V,W) damge.
    https://phitruongauto.com

  12. #12
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23327

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    One engineering mistake in my book is aluminum spiral motor couplings, I reserve these for encoders.
    For motor drive, you are better off with stainless versions for durability.IMO.
    Al..
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    447

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Quote Originally Posted by bustamam View Post
    Hi jim,

    I have to check back the voltage .

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
    ...that Post was almost one year ago.... you must be a busy man. Keep us posted if, anything gets fixed,
    DJ

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    12

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Quote Originally Posted by machinehop5 View Post
    ...that Post was almost one year ago.... you must be a busy man. Keep us posted if, anything gets fixed,
    DJ
    Thank you dj, im stuck here with that machine cause of convid 19, down here in msia we strickly have to stay home.

    Hope everyone safe.

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    12

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    When the servo is energized the brake should release if the servo can not hold the load, it may be tuning try and add some more Gain but this must be a balance of the 3 settings

    If the servo can't hold the load after changing the Parameters, then you may need a counter balance of some kind to help with the load
    I ll try to follow your advice.Thank you mactec.

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    12

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    One engineering mistake in my book is aluminum spiral motor couplings, I reserve these for encoders.
    For motor drive, you are better off with stainless versions for durability.IMO.
    Al..
    Hi Al_the_man

    Yes the aluminium coupler , a freind recomended me that type of coupler.this is the first time im working with servo motor.a lot of thing i did not know.
    Any particular type of coupler that you would recommend?

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  17. #17
    Community Moderator Al_The_Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23327

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    The same version, but in stainless, if you are going to use the existing ones i suggest you get a couple of spares, you may need them. .
    Al.
    CNC, Mechatronics Integration and Custom Machine Design

    “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”
    Albert E.

  18. #18
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    12

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    The same version, but in stainless, if you are going to use the existing ones i suggest you get a couple of spares, you may need them. .
    Al.
    Noted .1 bought 4 of it.1 got one spare.
    In case if something .....
    Stainless usually a bit expensive .
    Thank you al.

    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    447

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    ... multivariate of how to do the job for sure. Engineers have many choices
    https://www.mcmaster.com/standard-shaft-couplings

    Do you have any wiring diagrams of your setup? may help Color code?

  20. #20
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    12

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Quote Originally Posted by machinehop5 View Post
    ... multivariate of how to do the job for sure. Engineers have many choices
    https://www.mcmaster.com/standard-shaft-couplings

    Do you have any wiring diagrams of your setup? may help Color code?
    Hi machinehop5,

    I manage to tune up the servo with the tuning software provided by dmm.
    I tune it to rigid in the tuning section with before i tune it to be standard.
    So the the problem which i had is solve.
    I used to work with stepper motor never with servo motor.

    Now the problem is when i switch off the computer , mach 3 and the servo power everything stand still until i turn the computer, i turn on mach 3 , i push the reset button on mach 3.the z axis drop.


    Luckily it have the stopper if not the ball bearing going to spread on the floor.

    I already power the servo brake with 24v 3a.

    Just that i need a advice on the servo motor diagram , how to wire it properly, or as long that the z axis wont fall.

    Thank you.




    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    11116

    Re: Wiring problem with servo drive

    Quote Originally Posted by bustamam View Post
    Hi machinehop5,

    I manage to tune up the servo with the tuning software provided by dmm.
    I tune it to rigid in the tuning section with before i tune it to be standard.
    So the the problem which i had is solve.
    I used to work with stepper motor never with servo motor.

    Now the problem is when i switch off the computer , mach 3 and the servo power everything stand still until i turn the computer, i turn on mach 3 , i push the reset button on mach 3.the z axis drop.


    Luckily it have the stopper if not the ball bearing going to spread on the floor.

    I already power the servo brake with 24v 3a.

    Just that i need a advice on the servo motor diagram , how to wire it properly, or as long that the z axis wont fall.

    Thank you.




    Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk
    When you hit the Estop the Power should then be turned off for the Brake, Power should be off the Brake all the time until the servo main Power is turned on

    So Power off Brake ON Power ON Brake OFF This is normally controlled by a contactor so when you power up your servos the Brake is released ( Contactor turns ON supplies Power to the Break ) and when the servo drive is turned OFF, the Power to the Brake is also turned OFF

    That is a heavy head I'm surprised it does not have a counter weight to balance the load
    Mactec54

Similar Threads

  1. Kuka robot servo drive wiring
    By MarcNach in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2018, 01:41 PM
  2. Yaskawa SGDH and SGDA servo motor/drive wiring questions
    By rpseguin in forum Servo Motors / Drives
    Replies: 69
    Last Post: 06-29-2018, 02:03 AM
  3. Servo amplifier/drive input wiring assistance please
    By dazp1976 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-18-2018, 05:44 PM
  4. Problem in initial setup of TECO SERVO JSDEP, Servo Drive.
    By RanaAli in forum Machine Problems, Solutions , Wireless DNC, serial port
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-21-2017, 05:28 AM
  5. 1979 model SL-1 yaskawa servo drive and servo problem
    By Redzilla in forum Mori Seiki lathes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-31-2016, 07:21 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •