501,548 active members
5,031 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1339

    Using Hall Effect sensors as limit/home switches

    After reading a few posts about the advantages of using hall sensors I have ordered some for my CNC.

    Instead of the bare A3144 sensor I ordered it as a module, thinking it would save me some time and make for a better signal, but I’m not sure, so I need some advise.
    Here’s the module from Amazon.
    ?
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B072VVRNB7..._0Ek0CbZTZWECE

    Looks like I just need to supply 5 VDC and ground to power it, and connect it to the appropriate pins on the control board.

    Could someone make me a simple drawing showing labeled connections? If it can show point to point connections for one axis I can figure it out for the rest.

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    115

    Re: Using Hall Effect sensors as limit/home switches

    Did you forget to add the link?

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    115

    Re: Using Hall Effect sensors as limit/home switches

    Also, that sensor requires a magnet. The sensor detects a magnetic field.

    Did you look at other sensors that detect ferrous metal?
    https://www.amazon.com/Jhe-LJ8A3-2-Z...-2-spons&psc=1

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1339

    Re: Using Hall Effect sensors as limit/home switches

    hello can anyone help?

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    115

    Re: Using Hall Effect sensors as limit/home switches

    From Amazon:

    Module Interface Description

    VCC: Positive power supply, 3.3 V to 5 V
    GND: Negative power supply
    DO: Digital signal output
    AO: Analong signal output

    All you need to do, is hook the VCC Pin to +5V DC, Connect GND to ground, and DO is the digital output that you would connect to your BOB on one of the digital inputs.
    No need for the AO pin as that is an analog signal. You don't need that.

    Also, then mount a magnet on the machine where you want the switch to trigger. I would expect that the Output of the module DO will go low (zero volts) when the magnet gets close to the sensor. When it is not close, it should be high (5 volts). Also, it looks like the module has 2 LED's on it so you can tell then the magnet has triggered the sensor.

  6. #6
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1339

    Re: Using Hall Effect sensors as limit/home switches

    Quote Originally Posted by maxspongebob View Post
    From Amazon:

    Module Interface Description

    VCC: Positive power supply, 3.3 V to 5 V
    GND: Negative power supply
    DO: Digital signal output
    AO: Analong signal output

    All you need to do, is hook the VCC Pin to +5V DC, Connect GND to ground, and DO is the digital output that you would connect to your BOB on one of the digital inputs.
    No need for the AO pin as that is an analog signal. You don't need that.

    Also, then mount a magnet on the machine where you want the switch to trigger. I would expect that the Output of the module DO will go low (zero volts) when the magnet gets close to the sensor. When it is not close, it should be high (5 volts). Also, it looks like the module has 2 LED's on it so you can tell then the magnet has triggered the sensor.
    Could this device be used as a Normally open as well as a normally closed device?

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    115

    Re: Using Hall Effect sensors as limit/home switches

    There is not enough information in the Amazon description to say yes or no. However I suspect the answer is NO.

  8. #8
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1339

    Re: Using Hall Effect sensors as limit/home switches

    So connect the DO output to pin 13 on X axis home and that will do the trick, Correct?

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    674

    Re: Using Hall Effect sensors as limit/home switches

    Might work, might burn something out.
    That hall module will only work if pin 13 is pulled up to between 3 and 5.5v and is triggered when the pin is grounded. If it's pulled down and triggered when voltage is applied, it won't work. If it's pulled up to a higher voltage, it may work (the comparator is rated to 36v,) but depending how the hysteresis circuit is wired, it may not work correctly, or may burn something out.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-10-2014, 03:29 PM
  2. Itty, Bitty Hall Effect Limit Switches
    By SCzEngrgGroup in forum Novakon
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-10-2014, 08:56 PM
  3. hall effect home switches
    By daniellyall in forum Mach Mill
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-2012, 02:10 AM
  4. Is anyone using hall-effect limit switches?
    By RomanLini in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-28-2010, 08:53 PM
  5. Hall Effect Limit Switches
    By HimyKabibble in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-06-2009, 02:12 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •