507,867 active members
2,775 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Autodesk CAM > attempting first CAM on fusion 360
Page 3 of 3 123
Results 25 to 28 of 28
  1. #25
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    318

    Re: attempting first CAM on fusion 360

    ok My bad. I must have run a different program.
    I re programmed one just now and it cut all the way through. I made sure I did not have stock to leave checked.

    Thanks

  2. #26
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    318

    Re: attempting first CAM on fusion 360

    when I ran my last program I first removed the beginning g28 and the line with M6 in it.
    After the cut was complete it sliced an angle through the part as it was going back to my home. I am assuming this was because of the last G28 in the code?
    Code is here
    %
    (1001)
    (T1 D=0.25 CR=0 - ZMIN=-0.5 - flat end mill)
    G90 G94
    G17
    G20
    G90

    (2D Contour4)
    M9
    S24000 M3
    G54
    M8
    G0 X-3.692 Y-4.875
    Z0.6
    Z0.2894
    G1 Z-0.25 F13.12
    X-2.625 F60
    G3 X-2.5 Y-4.75 J0.125
    G1 Y-3.25
    G3 X-2.625 Y-3.125 I-0.125
    G1 X-3.692
    G2 X-4.0167 Y-2.9375 J0.375
    G3 X-4.125 Y-2.875 I-0.1083 J-0.0625
    G1 X-7.125
    G2 X-7.5 Y-2.5 J0.375
    G1 Y-1.25
    G2 X-7.125 Y-0.875 I0.375
    G1 X-0.875
    G2 X-0.5 Y-1.25 J-0.375
    G1 Y-6.75
    G2 X-0.875 Y-7.125 I-0.375
    G1 X-7.125
    G2 X-7.5 Y-6.75 J0.375
    G1 Y-5.5
    G2 X-7.125 Y-5.125 I0.375
    G1 X-4.125
    G3 X-4.0167 Y-5.0625 J0.125
    G2 X-3.692 Y-4.875 I0.3248 J-0.1875
    G0 Z0.2
    Y-3.125
    G1 Z0.0394 F13.12
    Z-0.5
    G2 X-4.0167 Y-2.9375 J0.375 F60
    G3 X-4.125 Y-2.875 I-0.1083 J-0.0625
    G1 X-7.125
    G2 X-7.5 Y-2.5 J0.375
    G1 Y-1.25
    G2 X-7.125 Y-0.875 I0.375
    G1 X-4.3
    X-4.25 F15
    X-4.1697 Z-0.4599 F60
    X-4.125 Z-0.4375 F15
    X-3.875 F60
    X-3.75 Z-0.5 F13.12
    X-0.875 F60
    G2 X-0.5 Y-1.25 J-0.375
    G1 Y-3.7
    Y-3.75 F15
    Y-3.8303 Z-0.4599 F60
    Y-3.875 Z-0.4375 F15
    Y-4.125 F60
    Y-4.25 Z-0.5 F13.12
    Y-6.75 F60
    G2 X-0.875 Y-7.125 I-0.375
    G1 X-3.7
    X-3.75 F15
    X-3.8303 Z-0.4599 F60
    X-3.875 Z-0.4375 F15
    X-4.125 F60
    X-4.25 Z-0.5 F13.12
    X-7.125 F60
    G2 X-7.5 Y-6.75 J0.375
    G1 Y-5.5
    G2 X-7.125 Y-5.125 I0.375
    G1 X-4.125
    G3 X-4.0167 Y-5.0625 J0.125
    G2 X-3.692 Y-4.875 I0.3248 J-0.1875
    G1 X-2.625
    G3 X-2.5 Y-4.75 J0.125
    G1 Y-3.25
    G3 X-2.625 Y-3.125 I-0.125
    G1 X-3.692
    G0 Z0.6 is this the retract height before the rapid to home? stock is only .5 thick
    M9
    G28 G91 Z0
    G90
    G28 G91 X0 Y0
    G90
    M30
    %

    Attached it the fusion file

    here is a pic of the damage
    Attachment 419718

    how do I keep that from happening?

    Thanks

  3. #27

    Re: attempting first CAM on fusion 360

    Quote Originally Posted by tkms002 View Post
    Got it what speed would you suggest for the slots and the holes?
    Thanks
    I regularly cut 1/2" Baltic Birch with a 1/4" compression bit running 18k rpm, plunge to 0.25" depth of cut, and typical feed rate of 175 ipm - no issues at all. Just cut a Longworth chuck an hour ago using these settings. I cut the center hole, finger holes, slots, and outer profile at the same setting.

    Attachment 419720

    David
    David
    Romans 3:23
    Etsy shop opened 12/1/17 - CurlyWoodShop

  4. #28

    Re: attempting first CAM on fusion 360

    Quote Originally Posted by tkms002 View Post
    when I ran my last program I first removed the beginning g28 and the line with M6 in it.
    After the cut was complete it sliced an angle through the part as it was going back to my home. I am assuming this was because of the last G28 in the code?
    Code is here
    %
    (1001)
    ......................................

    .....................................
    G1 X-3.692
    G0 Z0.6 is this the retract height before the rapid to home? stock is only .5 thick
    M9
    G28 G91 Z0
    G90
    G28 G91 X0 Y0
    G90
    M30
    %


    how do I keep that from happening?

    Thanks
    Try this, set G28 Safe Retracts = No :


    Then run an air cut and see if it fixed the problem.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Page 3 of 3 123

Similar Threads

  1. I'm attempting the 3D Skull project in Aluminum.
    By RussMachine in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 08-02-2017, 04:11 PM
  2. attempting to tap AR500
    By hatchmar in forum General Metalwork Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-03-2016, 10:38 AM
  3. Attempting to Make a Mold in BobCAD V26
    By fishinmachinist in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-29-2016, 04:27 PM
  4. Attempting Wireless With a 640M
    By Dr_Bob in forum Mazak, Mitsubishi, Mazatrol
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-27-2012, 05:55 PM
  5. Attempting to learn Madcam
    By shippman in forum MadCAM
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-30-2010, 07:22 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •