585,875 active members*
4,091 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Red face circular interpolation description

Hello,
    I have a supermax 40 mill w/ an Anilam crusader M control. I'm having a problem with getting a round bore using Anilams canned cycle. The program calls out the center of the bore X0Y0 and drops z to depth then feeds out at about a 30 degee angle to about 1 o'clock then goes counter clockwise around the hole past 1 o'clock to about 11 o'clock then back to center. The
    resulting hole because of the extra overlap makes the hole out of tolerance. Is there someone out there that has run this control and can tell me if there is a different way to program this? I'm not that great on the mill yet I've been programming cnc lathes for about 23 years and have puchased three of these supermax's about a year ago. What does the term "interpolate" mean in lamens terms. Is it possible to hold .0007 in a bore or should I go back to the boring head? THANKS

Interpolation, in machining terms, is generating a path that connects data points. Close to the ideal path, but constrained by the control limits.

The proper way to cut a circle is to ramp into the circle (using a smaller radius), cut 360 degrees at the proper radius, then ramp out (using a smaller radius).

This ensures that there is no overlap.

Unfortunately, it would take an EXTREMELY accurate machine to hold .0007 tolerance interpolating a bore. If the machine itself is accurate to .0002 positioning, you've already used up over half of your tolerance!

When you add in other factors such as tool wear and deflection, material hardness, temperature, etc., you're really pushing the limit.

Check the backlash on the machine.
    We have three supermaxes..one of them looses about .02 in 6 inches.
    .0007 i'd probably use a good boring head.

Mazaholic,