501,574 active members
5,722 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Page 2 of 2 12
Results 13 to 17 of 17
  1. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    313
    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    The power common terminal of a USB socket in a Tower or Desk Top PC is connected to earth ground via the Mobo power supply common and the board ground plane, which is connected to the chassis and hence sourced from the earth pin on your power socket.
    There is no problem in taking any processor to ground as long as it is done correctly.
    The Galil Motion boards I use also do this automatically via the PC P.S. earth ground.
    It occurs exactly the same with the printer port common.
    Al.
    I am using a laptop that is not always plugged in.

  2. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    221

    Re: arduino grount to chassis ground??

    You mean, the probe is able to break through this oxidized layer. Probes should have a very sharp point. Enen if you use a (soft) copper wire, you will probably measure conductivity, the question is if this conductivity will last during the lifetime of the machine.

    In Europe this toothed washer is a safety requirement.

  3. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1340

    Re: arduino grount to chassis ground??

    Quote Originally Posted by tkms002 View Post
    I am using a laptop that is not always plugged in.
    Which changes things because most laptops don't even have a third pin for ground (at least in Oz). So you need a way of locally grounding your arduino and, indeed, the laptop via the USB connection so everyone's talking the same reference zero voltage. Star point ground, even consider soldering a nice fat wire to the board next to the USB connector's shield to that star point as a low impedance path for normalising voltages from the laptop.

    Quote Originally Posted by hfjbuis View Post
    You mean, the probe is able to break through this oxidized layer. Probes should have a very sharp point. Enen if you use a (soft) copper wire, you will probably measure conductivity, the question is if this conductivity will last during the lifetime of the machine.

    In Europe this toothed washer is a safety requirement.
    Most places it is. Don't forget that brushing a probe on continuity sense has a very low current and thus minimal voltage drop across the connection. Crank up the current and you may find that the connection to an oxidised ali surface creates such a high voltage drop it becomes next to useless.

  4. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    313

    Re: arduino grount to chassis ground??

    Quote Originally Posted by hfjbuis View Post
    You mean, the probe is able to break through this oxidized layer. Probes should have a very sharp point. Enen if you use a (soft) copper wire, you will probably measure conductivity, the question is if this conductivity will last during the lifetime of the machine.

    In Europe this toothed washer is a safety requirement.
    thanks I will add them

  5. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    313

    Re: arduino grount to chassis ground??

    Quote Originally Posted by dharmic View Post
    Which changes things because most laptops don't even have a third pin for ground (at least in Oz). So you need a way of locally grounding your arduino and, indeed, the laptop via the USB connection so everyone's talking the same reference zero voltage. Star point ground, even consider soldering a nice fat wire to the board next to the USB connector's shield to that star point as a low impedance path for normalising voltages from the laptop.



    Most places it is. Don't forget that brushing a probe on continuity sense has a very low current and thus minimal voltage drop across the connection. Crank up the current and you may find that the connection to an oxidised ali surface creates such a high voltage drop it becomes next to useless.
    my laptop does have a third wire on the charging cord. When I created my electronics box I added a grounded 120v power outlet that I plug the laptop into.

    So, I will run a wire from the Arduino GRD to my common ground(a bus bar). I will add star washers in between the ground bus and the chassis.
    Thanks

Page 2 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Keep arcing chassis on Geckos??
    By Zeppelin1007 in forum Gecko Drives
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-13-2018, 09:57 PM
  2. Drawing a chassis
    By motas in forum Parts for Radio Control Models
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 11-24-2010, 10:40 AM
  3. Frame ground vs. Electrical ground.
    By polaraligned in forum Granite Devices
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-24-2008, 11:21 PM
  4. RFQ Amp Chassis
    By osoloco69 in forum Employment Opportunity
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2007, 04:56 PM
  5. Motor supply ground vs Logic ground?
    By Gashmore in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-07-2005, 11:21 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •