508,660 active members
3,467 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Autodesk CAM > Toolpath precision issues from fusion 360
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Toolpath precision issues from fusion 360

    Hi everyone !

    I have bought a Workbee CNC machine from the company Ooznest and I'm trying to calibrate the machine.
    I'm using Fusion 360 and it seems that I have a toolpath issue but I don’t know if it’s a machine issue or a software one but all of my outliner cut are correct but not the one which go in.

    So i have drawn a square of 62 by 62mm with a notch of 18mm (please see attached picture 1-1 & 1-2).
    To make this work, I have mounted on the CNC a flat 1/4 inch end mill from your starter kit (please see attached picture 5-1 & 5-2).
    On fusion 360, I have set up some parameters to do the job ( please see attached picture 2-1 until 4).

    By the end, after doing the first test, I have got :
    x=62,76 mm instead of 62 (picture 6-1)
    y=62,49 mm instead of 62 (picture 6-2)
    notch= 17,18 instead of 18 (picture 6-3)

    I have watched the ooznest video about how to calibrate the workbee, I have done it 3 times to have a precise cut ( picture 7).
    Link : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PsCiCDZeuek

    After doing the last cut, I have got :
    x=62,00 mm instead of 62 (picture 8-1)
    y=61,98 mm instead of 62 (picture 8-2)
    notch= 17,12 instead of 18 (picture 6-3)

    I don’t understand why my outliner cut are correct and not my interline cut, it doesn’t make sens to me.
    To give you more details, I have downloaded your small program for fusion and to export the gcode.
    Hope you have enough element to find out my problem and tell me what’s going on and hopefully give me a solution.

    You will see the rest of the image on the next post.
    Thank you all in advance

  2. #2

    Re: Toolpath precision issues from fusion 360

    Please see attached the next pictures
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 3-5.jpg   4.jpg   5-2.jpg   6-1.jpg   6-2.jpg  

    6-3.jpg   7.jpg  

  3. #3

    Re: Toolpath precision issues from fusion 360

    If you need more details, please let me know

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34581

    Re: Toolpath precision issues from fusion 360

    Try changing the cut direction, and see if the results are different.

    I'm guessing that flex in the machine is causing the discrepancies.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  5. #5

    Re: Toolpath precision issues from fusion 360

    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    Try changing the cut direction, and see if the results are different.

    I'm guessing that flex in the machine is causing the discrepancies.
    Thanks ger21 for your reply, I will try when I will be in the workshop and let you know then.

  6. #6

    Re: Toolpath precision issues from fusion 360

    I have done the test tooday at the workshop and I the result is quite similar but on the other way around !
    Instead having 17.12 from climb milling (left), I have got 18.70 from conventional milling (right)...

    Any other suggestions ?

  7. #7
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34581

    Re: Toolpath precision issues from fusion 360

    So you're seeing a 1.5mm difference between climb and conventional? This is almost certainly machine flex.

    I'd try climb cutting 1mm oversize, then do a finish pass conventional cutting, at a slightly slower feedrate.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  8. #8

    Re: Toolpath precision issues from fusion 360

    Quote Originally Posted by ger21 View Post
    So you're seeing a 1.5mm difference between climb and conventional? This is almost certainly machine flex.

    I'd try climb cutting 1mm oversize, then do a finish pass conventional cutting, at a slightly slower feedrate.
    The weird thing is I have 62 mm on each side (same than the climb milling), only the internal measure is different ...
    A lot of people told me that it might be the software Fusion 360 because some issue of the toolpath but I have done the same test witht the software Vectric and it's worst !

    What do you mean by machine flex ? like flexible about the setting or not strong enough ? I have a workbee machine, should be fine for wood in theorie

  9. #9
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34581

    Re: Toolpath precision issues from fusion 360

    What do you mean by machine flex ? like flexible about the setting or not strong enough ? I have a workbee machine, should be fine for wood in theorie
    Not stiff enough. That's a very lightweight machine, and probably flexes fairly easily.

    I use a $150,000 machine that weighs 10,000 lbs, and it will flex when cutting wood.

    Try doing a rouging pass like I mentioned, and see if it helps.


    A lot of people told me that it might be the software
    These people don't know what they are talking about. People are always asking if their problems are due to their software. They almost never are.
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

Similar Threads

  1. GRBL 1.1 UGS and Fusion 360 issues
    By tkms002 in forum Arduino
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-12-2019, 10:06 PM
  2. Latest Fusion 360 Torch.cps post issues?
    By mikef137 in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-14-2017, 08:56 PM
  3. CNC Fusion Deluxe alignment issues?
    By dogmeatk in forum X3/SX3/G0619/G0463
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-28-2013, 04:49 AM
  4. CNC Fusion X2 conversion done... now questions/issues
    By JWeb in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-12-2010, 12:53 AM
  5. CNC Fusion X3 Deluxe Kit Backlash Issues
    By dneisler in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 09-25-2007, 10:39 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •