584,842 active members*
4,621 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > WoodWorking Machines > DIY CNC Router Table Machines > How is everyone building a DIY CNC router system that maintains cutting tolerances?
Page 1 of 7 123

How is everyone building a DIY CNC router system that maintains cutting tolerances?

Hello Everyone,

First some background, I'm an engineer with CNC machining experience and GD&T. I have a machine shop and have been thinking about building a CNC router capable of cutting aluminum and wood to within 0.001" repeat ability.I have been researching many sites with many DIY kits and DIY from scratch builds. No one seems to talk about how accurate and repeatable their machines are. From my experience, one cannot simply bolt some extrusions or steel tubing together and get the assembly to be planar within a 0.001". Do you build a flat reference surface/table first, then assemble? Does anyone use the old tight wire technique to ensure their rails and trucks are fastened to the metal base without dips or sags? Please give me some insight on how you are building a CNC router in three axis with precision.

Re: How is everyone building a DIY CNC router system that maintains cutting tolerance

You're not going to find any DIY routers accurate to .001".

You mention repeatability, but also talk about flatness, which is something different entirely.

If you need .001 accuracy, you need to weld a frame, have it stress relieved and machined for rail mounting surfaces.

You'll also need expensive screws, as the cheap ones used by most are only accurate to ±.003" or so per ft.

Another option is to weld up a frame, and use self leveling epoxy to get flat rail mounting surfaces. That gets you a coplaner surface, but you still need a way to get everything mounted straight.
    Gerry

UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html