509,838 active members
3,744 visitors online
Register for free
Login

Thread: Lathe thread

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    28

    Lathe thread

    Hi
    I'm interested in the gcode for cutting multiple threads on a lathe.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__vh...ature=youtu.be


    I would like to get an example of a finished program. (M20*2.5 L10)

    I would like to get a link to the full guide on gcode for PlanetCNC

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    214

    Re: Lathe thread

    Quote Originally Posted by R2D3 View Post
    Hi
    I'm interested in the gcode for cutting multiple threads on a lathe.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__vh...ature=youtu.be


    I would like to get an example of a finished program. (M20*2.5 L10)

    I would like to get a link to the full guide on gcode for PlanetCNC

    This code will cut a single-start thread.

    It does not work with the current release of TNG as this version doesn't support G76, but should be OK with CNC USB & TNG 2017 beta software.

    I think it will work when TNG v2 is released.

    (PLANETCNC-TNG LINUX-CNC)
    (ECAM V4 ***LATHE*** )
    (CREATED ON 27/07/2019 AT 23:19)
    (PART DESCRIPTION: BRASS THREAD)
    (PROG NUMBER: 1)
    (STOCK O/D: 20.000)
    (STOCK I/D: 0.000)
    (STOCK LENGTH: 25.000)

    (------------------ TOOL LIST ------------------)
    (TOOL:EXTERN THREAD TOOL )
    (-----------------------------------------------)

    (SINGLE START THREAD)

    G08 G18 G21 G40 G54 G61 G80 G90

    (M20 X 2.5)
    (EXTERN THREAD TOOL )
    (MAX Z TRAVEL: 2.500)
    (MIN Z TRAVEL: -10.000)
    (MAX X TRAVEL: 10.500)
    (MIN X TRAVEL: 8.466)

    G94 T15 G43 H15 M6
    G97 S600 M3 G04 P1 M8
    G0 X10.500 Z2.500
    G76 P2.500 Z-10.000 I-0.500 J0.280 K1.534 E1.534 H2 L2 Q29.4 R1.7
    G0 X10.500 Z2.500
    G53 X40.000 Z100.000
    M5
    M9
    M2

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    28

    Re: Lathe thread

    Hello everyone again.
    I am using TNG now. Today I tried using G32 and G33 codes and ran into a problem. The code does not work automatically, stopping at G33. In MDI mode, the G33 code starts and works without problems. I try start this code:
    %
    G21 G18
    G00 X-0.1 Z5
    G33 Z-15 K0.1
    G01 X2 F50
    %

  4. #4
    Moderator PlanetCNC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    399

    Re: Lathe thread

    Please note that you would need to turn on spindle in order to receive the index signal

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    28

    Re: Lathe thread

    I added M03 to the code but this does not help.
    I turn on the spindle power manually.(He works at the beginning of the program.If I type a line with code, ?fter the program freezes G33 ... in MDI it runs fine, machine moves).

    I specify about the index signal. Use an encoder. He has a signal A and B. Do I need an index signal as well?
    P.S. In simulation mode, with the board turned off, the program works fine.
    P.P.S. If i turn on Uer Interfase> Spindle RPM (As Set) Program does not work(With connected board).

  6. #6
    Moderator PlanetCNC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    399

    Re: Lathe thread

    First G33 code in sequence needs index signal. without index signal thread entry point is not same and cut is ruined. G33 waits for this index signal.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    28

    Re: Lathe thread

    If I understand correctly, then I need to arrange the connection of pin GND and pin IDX to CTRL with each spindle revolution?

  8. #8
    Moderator PlanetCNC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    399

    Re: Lathe thread

    This is optimal.
    You can also try setting "Index PPR" value to 0. Not 100% sure but I believe that in this case index signal is ignored and position is calculated from encoder. At least this is how it will be done in TNGv2.

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    28

    Re: Lathe thread

    I will ask a question for the future.
    Will it be possible to shift the position of the beginning of the thread on the part?
    Sometimes you need to create a thread with several thread beginnings

Similar Threads

  1. G33 for OD Thread on lathe
    By yng_guin in forum G-Code Programing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-08-2016, 05:04 PM
  2. Yet another Sherline lathe thread
    By vlmarshall in forum Mini Lathe
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 10-03-2012, 02:30 PM
  3. Thread milling on a CNC lathe
    By mroy0404 in forum Fanuc
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-04-2010, 07:39 AM
  4. Mach3 Lathe Thread
    By Kelinginc in forum Mach Lathe
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-01-2009, 12:53 AM
  5. How does CNC lathe works to cut thread?
    By alexccmeister in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 08-09-2008, 05:16 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •