502,556 active members
6,024 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4

    3axis and 4axis

    Hi everyone, I'm about to buy my very first hobbistic cnc machine. I need some advice from the kind of you that will replay. Budget money is 2000 euros. Should I go for a 4axis (rotary) or 3axis? I mean, can a 4axis machine be used to handle a project that requires a 3axis machine? My pc doesn't have a parallel port, can an adaptor do the job? Thank you and sorry for these silly questions!

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1940

    Re: 3axis and 4axis

    A USB to parallel port adaptor made for printers will not work

    Motion controllers like UC100 or Smooth stepper that emulates a printerport will

    which CNC machines have you been looking at ?

    John

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    636

    Re: 3axis and 4axis

    Hi Shadow - You get a 4th axis (rotary axis I presume ) if you need one. If you are not going to do rotary work then 3 axis is the go. I recommend you get a system that uses the USB port not the printer port. $2000euro gets you a lot of hobby machine. What sort of things do you want to make? Peter

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4

    Re: 3axis and 4axis

    Hi! I was aware of this "parallel" or "usb" problem. I saw this machine ht*ps://w*w.youtube.com/watch?v=OFePQIMNwSo and I was wondering if I should buy a similar one with 3axis or 4axis. My question is... is the fourth axis a module you can unplug at will or it's just fixed and you have to stick to 4axis projects. Since the difference in price is not a big deal between a 3axis and the 4axis I mean. If I can have a machine flexibile enough to handle 3axis projects as well as the 4axis ones, I will buy it of course.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    636

    Re: 3axis and 4axis

    Hi Shadow - The fourth axis only works if it gets signals. So if your doing a 3 axis job only 3 work. If doing 4, 4 work. The above link does not work. If you have a rotary axis it can be installed and removed from the bed. In which case its not connected so does not work. Peter

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4

    Re: 3axis and 4axis

    Thank you very much peteeng, that's the answer I was looking for. Sorry, Here's the link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFePQIMNwSo
    Now the last thing I'm concerned about, "machining precision". I'm not able to evaluate this, and yet I would gladly toss extra bucks for... let's say... a good recirculating ball screw that doesn't wear out in a couple of days...

    Said that, it's funny how you can find the same specifications for a 6040 usb 4axis machine with prices that can range anything between 1000€ and 8000€ :tired:

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    4

    Re: 3axis and 4axis

    ok, I think I'll get this one
    https://www.amazon.it/BTdahong-Affet...gateway&sr=8-7

    Would this be a good choice?

Similar Threads

  1. Need guidance on upgrading from 3axis to 4axis
    By afar in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-01-2018, 11:14 AM
  2. Post-processor for Solidcam 3axis, 4axis, 5axis and multiaxis.
    By solidcamx in forum SolidCAM for SolidWorks and SolidCAM for Inventor
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-08-2017, 09:50 PM
  3. Tormach postprocessor 4axis and 3axis
    By solidcamx in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-20-2013, 08:13 PM
  4. 3axis cnc kit?
    By jmacken in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-04-2008, 01:09 AM
  5. 3axis DRO
    By Klox in forum Machine Problems, Solutions , Wireless DNC, serial port
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-04-2003, 07:32 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •