505,889 active members
2,776 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Phase Converters > Have Tree 310 w/ 3 phase power. Best solution to hook to my shops Single Phase 240 V
Page 2 of 2 12
Results 13 to 22 of 22
  1. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    18

    Re: Have Tree 310 w/ 3 phase power. Best solution to hook to my shops Single Phase 24

    Thanks, Jim. I have some various NMTB tooling for another mill and I tried to insert it in the spindle on the Tree 310. Even when I took the nut off, the outside diameter of the flange was too big to work with it. I believe this is an Erickson 30 QC spindle, but I'll have to try to find some brand name Erickson, Kennametal, or Valenite tool holders... the one's I've seen are pricey...

    Smitty

  2. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    18

    Re: Have Tree 310 w/ 3 phase power. Best solution to hook to my shops Single Phase 24

    Quote Originally Posted by Al_The_Man View Post
    Looks like the panel had a option for Spindle Override on some versions.
    Do you have the control documentation? Generally most CNC systems have a dual controller, one for the CNC (motion) and one for the PLC (M,S,T codes) , the PLC usually has an output to turn on the spindle, at minimum.
    If it does have a M3, M4, M5 even if no S command , you may be able to use this for the VFD.
    Al.
    Al

    I have the Dynapath book, plus some drawings, but I haven't gone through them, yet. I'll do some looking and hopefully find more information. I'd like to use a VFD as my Trak lathe uses a 10hp RPC, and I'd like to keep the load on my circuits down as much as possible.

    Thanks for your information,

    Smitty

  3. #15

    Re: Have Tree 310 w/ 3 phase power. Best solution to hook to my shops Single Phase 24

    Quote Originally Posted by UtahSmitty View Post
    Thanks, Jim. I have some various NMTB tooling for another mill and I tried to insert it in the spindle on the Tree 310. Even when I took the nut off, the outside diameter of the flange was too big to work with it. I believe this is an Erickson 30 QC spindle, but I'll have to try to find some brand name Erickson, Kennametal, or Valenite tool holders... the one's I've seen are pricey...

    Smitty
    I did buy some standard NMTB 30 holders, I just turned down the flange, and also narrowed it up a bit.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  4. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    18

    Re: Have Tree 310 w/ 3 phase power. Best solution to hook to my shops Single Phase 24

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post
    I did buy some standard NMTB 30 holders, I just turned down the flange, and also narrowed it up a bit.
    Jim

    How did you narrow up the flange? There's instructions available from Erickson on how to narrow the flange, and the dimensions, etc. but they say to use a cylindrical grinder--for accuracy I suppose.

    I don't have access to a cylindrical grinder, but I do have a 12" lathe with a 4 jaw chuck. I maybe could rig up a tool post grinder but I hate to get grinding grit on the ways, etc.

    Smitty

  5. #17

    Re: Have Tree 310 w/ 3 phase power. Best solution to hook to my shops Single Phase 24

    Quote Originally Posted by UtahSmitty View Post
    Jim

    How did you narrow up the flange? There's instructions available from Erickson on how to narrow the flange, and the dimensions, etc. but they say to use a cylindrical grinder--for accuracy I suppose.

    I don't have access to a cylindrical grinder, but I do have a 12" lathe with a 4 jaw chuck. I maybe could rig up a tool post grinder but I hate to get grinding grit on the ways, etc.

    Smitty
    I just used my 13 inch lathe and carbide tool bits, the $2.00 ones from Harbor Freight, 1/2 inch AR-8, but I suppose any decent carbide bit would do.

    I didn't take any material off of the bottom of the flange, only the top. That way the original concentricity is not disturbed, the top of the flange should not touch the spindle nose before the taper is fully engaged, there should be a bit of clearance between the flange and the spindle nose when seated in the taper.

    Over the years I have scrounged up some genuine Erickson QC holders at pretty good prices, so they are out there if a bit hard to find. EBay is a pretty good source as is Craigslist.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  6. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    18

    Re: Have Tree 310 w/ 3 phase power. Best solution to hook to my shops Single Phase 24

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post
    I just used my 13 inch lathe and carbide tool bits, the $2.00 ones from Harbor Freight, 1/2 inch AR-8, but I suppose any decent carbide bit would do.

    I didn't take any material off of the bottom of the flange, only the top. That way the original concentricity is not disturbed, the top of the flange should not touch the spindle nose before the taper is fully engaged, there should be a bit of clearance between the flange and the spindle nose when seated in the taper.

    Over the years I have scrounged up some genuine Erickson QC holders at pretty good prices, so they are out there if a bit hard to find. EBay is a pretty good source as is Craigslist.
    Ok... I thought a good carbide bit might do it. I'm a little confused, though... all of the toolhoolders I checked had a gap between the spindle nose and the toolholder flange, what I understand you calling the top of the flange. It seems to me that if the collar's too thick, you'd have to take material off the tool bit side (bottom??) of the flange to allow the collar to operate.

    Just wondering...

    Smitty

  7. #19

    Re: Have Tree 310 w/ 3 phase power. Best solution to hook to my shops Single Phase 24

    Quote Originally Posted by UtahSmitty View Post
    Ok... I thought a good carbide bit might do it. I'm a little confused, though... all of the toolhoolders I checked had a gap between the spindle nose and the toolholder flange, what I understand you calling the top of the flange. It seems to me that if the collar's too thick, you'd have to take material off the tool bit side (bottom??) of the flange to allow the collar to operate.

    Just wondering...

    Smitty
    OK, a senior moment, I'm 70 so I can have those. I did those about 5 years ago. You made me get up from my chair and go out the the shop to look at a modified tool holder. You are correct, I did take the material off of the tool bit side.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

  8. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    18

    Re: Have Tree 310 w/ 3 phase power. Best solution to hook to my shops Single Phase 24

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post
    OK, a senior moment, I'm 70 so I can have those. I did those about 5 years ago. You made me get up from my chair and go out the the shop to look at a modified tool holder. You are correct, I did take the material off of the tool bit side.
    LOL No problem. I'm 65, and my senior moments are turning into hours... thanks for all your help.

    Smitty

  9. #21
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    6023

    Re: Have Tree 310 w/ 3 phase power. Best solution to hook to my shops Single Phase 24

    The 310 has no spindle drive, the hole in the panel for spindle was only for J325/J425 machines that had a VFD for spindle control. The control and drives are single phase, and I don't think the 310's came with a coolant pump which was 3 phase.
    I would get a 3-4hp VFD and wire the spindle motor to that, and use single phase for the rest of the machine, or just use it as a phase converter.

  10. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    18

    Re: Have Tree 310 w/ 3 phase power. Best solution to hook to my shops Single Phase 24

    Quote Originally Posted by underthetire View Post
    The 310 has no spindle drive, the hole in the panel for spindle was only for J325/J425 machines that had a VFD for spindle control. The control and drives are single phase, and I don't think the 310's came with a coolant pump which was 3 phase.
    I would get a 3-4hp VFD and wire the spindle motor to that, and use single phase for the rest of the machine, or just use it as a phase converter.
    Thanks, that's good to know. I think I'll follow that route.

    Smitty

Page 2 of 2 12

Similar Threads

  1. Robodrill 7.5hp spindle. Single Phase Power input No Rotary Phase convetor doable?
    By whiteriver in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-05-2017, 09:01 PM
  2. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 07-15-2016, 05:15 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-24-2015, 07:04 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-14-2014, 10:50 PM
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-13-2009, 03:53 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •