585,662 active members*
3,204 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Manufacturing Processes > Milling > DEEP POCKET AND SMALL RADII

DEEP POCKET AND SMALL RADII

Hi everybody,
    I'm new at milling and try to improve the skill. I get trouble with a project that has 3 inches deep pocket and inner radius (radii) to finish are 0.09 (+/-0.03). Material is steel 4130 heat treated at 200K. Thank a lot for any help.

Re: DEEP POCKET AND SMALL RADII

Without a bit more detail it is hard to offer advice. If the inner radius is at the bottom corners of the pocket then a bull nose endmill with the proper radius would be the correct tool to finish with. Remove as much material as possible with a roughing endmill first.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post
    Without a bit more detail it is hard to offer advice. If the inner radius is at the bottom corners of the pocket then a bull nose endmill with the proper radius would be the correct tool to finish with. Remove as much material as possible with a roughing endmill first.
    Thank you very much for your advice, Jim. the hard thing is the corner radius between walls of the pocket. I had used the small dia. (3/16) ball end mill to finish this corner after roughing around by 1/2 dia. endmill. But seem it was not be successful. the tool was tool long to handle the job, even I tried with many speed & feed situations,

Can you post a picture of the part? Maybe a screenshot of the CAD drawing. I am having a hard time trying to understand what the pocket looks like. 3 inches deep is too much DOC for a normal 3/16 ball endmill. But there are cutters that might do it. This might be better done on a 5 axis machine or a sinker EDM, does not really sound like a good job to run on a 3 axis machine.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

Quote Originally Posted by Jim Dawson View Post