504,195 active members
5,844 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Autodesk CAM > Mixed up tools and height offsets
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    188

    Mixed up tools and height offsets

    I noticed today that I was getting a mixed tool number and height offsets. I get a T2 H3 then a T3 H2. Obviously this wont work. The code calls the correct tool number then on the next line calls for another tool. The problem is generated during the post process from fusion 360. I'm using the Centroid post processor. Anyone have any idea what I may have set wrong? I did verify that in the setup the tool number does match the offset. I'm attaching an example of the code.

    %
    O01001 (center drill)
    (T2 D=0.25 CR=0. TAPER=90deg - ZMIN=-0.03 - spot drill)
    (T3 D=0.09 CR=0. TAPER=118deg - ZMIN=-0.3695 - drill)
    N10 G90 G94 G17
    N15 G20
    N20 G28 G91 Z0.
    N25 G90
    (Drill2)
    N30 T2 M6
    N35 T3
    N40 S5000 M3
    N45 G54
    N55 G0 X0. Y0.3
    N60 G43 Z0.6 H2
    N70 Z0.2
    N75 G98 G81 X0. Y0.3 Z-0.03 R0.2 F10.
    N80 G80
    N85 Z0.6
    N95 G28 G91 Z0.
    N100 G90
    (Drill3)
    N105 M1
    N110 T3 M6
    N115 T2
    N120 S5000 M3
    N125 G54
    N130 M8
    N140 G0 X0. Y0.3
    N145 G43 Z0.6 H3
    N155 Z0.2
    N160 G83 X0. Y0.3 Z-0.3695 R0.2 Q0.0225 P0. F5.
    N165 G80
    N170 Z0.6
    N180 M9
    N185 G28 G91 Z0.
    N190 G28 X0. Y0.
    N195 M30
    %

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    8

    Re: Mixed up tools and height offsets

    Line 30 T2 M6 is the tool change command and line 35 T3 is the next tool command for auto tool loader if one exists. As far as Fusion and your CNC controller are concerned the tool in use is tool 2.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    188

    Re: Mixed up tools and height offsets

    Thanks breezy.

    Looks like I should look for a setting in the centroid control then.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    164

    Re: Mixed up tools and height offsets

    If your machine's control does not support "pre-call" of the next tool, it really shouldn't matter. I'd "guess" that lines 35 and 115 would just be ignored.

    If the post you're using works perfectly as far as movements and cutting, you may be able to edit the post so that it doesn't create the pre-call lines.

    PM

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    188

    Re: Mixed up tools and height offsets

    Thanks for the help guys. I did some experimenting today. My machine does not support precall I don't have a tool changer. Too much $$$ for me at this point. I deleted the precall lines 35 and 115 and it works as it should. I'll look in fusion and see if there is something I can turn off to make it work. If not I'll manually edit it out.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    188

    Re: Mixed up tools and height offsets

    Its solved. I went into the Fusion 360 post processor for centroid and turned off the "preload tool" option. It no longer outputs the extra tool command. Since I already manually deleted the lines I know it will now work. Thanks again for pointing me in the right direction.

Similar Threads

  1. Tool height offsets
    By CS900 in forum Taig Mills / Lathes
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-20-2016, 09:19 AM
  2. multipile height offsets
    By jake hoback in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-21-2013, 10:34 PM
  3. Height offsets
    By Mark and Poco in forum Okuma
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-03-2011, 01:17 AM
  4. outputting height offsets
    By ebalistreri in forum Machine Problems, Solutions , Wireless DNC, serial port
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-18-2010, 02:29 AM
  5. Tool Height Offsets
    By JamesBond in forum Machine Problems, Solutions , Wireless DNC, serial port
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-01-2003, 08:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •