584,833 active members*
5,770 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Dyna Mechtronics > Manual - Tool Change Macro (M6Start) Always at home position
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    8

    Question Manual - Tool Change Macro (M6Start) Always at home position

    Hi,

    I am trying to figuring out how to do a simple macro to do a manual tool change at cutting POSITION - only z should move to z0.

    I have very difficult to see how it works in real life.

    So when I cut a job and it stops for a tool change it should automatic go to POSITION z0 wait for me to make a tool change and how do I restart the job again at the new position after I made a new tool probe to old tool position:
    x = (variable bed point)
    y = (variable bed point)
    z = 4 in MM- after my probe macro

    I think it must be a very simple macro.

    1. go to Z0
    2. stop spindle
    3. manual tool change
    4. Make a new probe to be z4mm over the cutting job.
    5. goto old position
    6. start spindle

    Is it just to push "cycle start" again?

    Can some of you please give me some leads... to that macro.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    339

    Re: Manual - Tool Change Macro (M6Start) Always at home position

    Depending on your programming skills and passion for this, you could make that machine dance in the way you want it too.
    If you aren't code savvy then perhaps worth looking to outsource this job out.

    Example that may help you getting started: https://github.com/cstewart000/HME_M...er/M6Start.m1s

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Posts
    8

    Re: Manual - Tool Change Macro (M6Start) Always at home position

    It's just my hobby cnc. I don't want to ruin it.


    Somewhere I should start ...

    My macro so far with manual probe:




    DoSpinStop() ' Make sure the spindle is OFF
    Code"M09" ' Make sure the coolant is OFF
    OldTool = GetOEMDRO (1224) 'Tool In spindle DRO You must add this to your settings screen '''' BUT this line I dont understand
    x = GetToolChangeStart( 0 ) ' Get x tool change start position
    y = GetToolChangeStart( 1 ) ' Get y tool change start position
    z = GetToolChangeStart( 2 ) ' Get z tool change start position
    tool = GetSelectedTool() ' tool to be changed to
    NewTool = tool
    If NewTool = OldTool Then
    Exit Sub
    End If
    Code "G53 G0 Z0" ' Move z to tool change position in Machine cord. '''' BUT this line I dont understand
    While IsMoving ' wait for z to move
    Wend
    Call SetUserDRO (1224,NewTool)
    SetCurrentTool( NewTool ) ' input new tool into tool in spindle dro
    'Code "G43 H" & tool ' Call tool offsets for new tool
    ' Verify Tool Change Complete message box
    Dim Msg, Style, Title, Help, Ctxt, Response,MyString
    Msg = "Please Insert Tool : " & " ( " & GetSelectedTool( ) & " ) " '& " " & GetToolDesc(NewTool)
    'Msg = "Please Insert Tool Number " & " ( " & GetSelectedTool() & " ) " '& " " & GetToolDesc(Tool) ' Define message
    Style = vbYesNo + vbCritical + vbDefaultButton2 ' Define buttons
    Style = 0 + 48 + 0 ' Define buttons.
    Title = "Tool Change Requested" ' Define title
    Help = "DEMO.HLP" ' Define Help file
    Ctxt = 1000 ' Define topic
    'context.
    ' Display message.
    Response = MsgBox(Msg, Style, Title, Help, Ctxt)
    If Response = vbOk Then ' User chose Ok
    MyString = "Ok" ' Perform some action
    End If
    'Show user the current tool description
    Message "Tool # " & GetCurrentTool() & " : " & GetToolDesc(GetCurrentTool) & " Installed " & " Returning to Tool Change Start Position"
    'Code "G00 Z0"
    Code "G00 X" & x & "Y" & y & "Z" & z 'Move back to where the tool change was prompted
    While IsMoving
    Wend
    End



    I move slowly forward...

    btw. thanks for your reply

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    339

    Re: Manual - Tool Change Macro (M6Start) Always at home position

    Its unclear what you mean by:
    4. Make a new probe to be z4mm over the cutting job.
    5. goto old position

    Can you explain a little more and I'll see if I can help further. Try to describe what you want in absolute positions and/or motions, or relative to wcs, machine zero, etc. It would make things much easier for someone to be able to help out. Let see what we can do when you've clarified.

    Regarding the "goto old position" part, I believe (not sure) MACH3 can set (or read?) #variables via gcode. You could set #x_pos and #y_pos before a tool change and pass it on to your macro to set that ref pos to go back too after your tool change. Have a look at those #variables and see if this solution could work for you.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    178

    Re: Manual - Tool Change Macro (M6Start) Always at home position

    A macro? What for..
    This question is way too broad. What CAM are you using?
    Most decent 2.5D + CAMs will support a goto command. They will also support a tool change position...or you can simply change the post processor to issue a G0 xx and M9 before a M6.

    Going to Z0 on a tool change??? :violin:

Similar Threads

  1. Change home position from TL to TR
    By Steviep in forum Laser Engraving / Cutting Machine General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-15-2018, 07:51 PM
  2. Go to Z- home position for manual tool change.
    By Sierevello in forum GibbsCAM
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-21-2017, 11:07 AM
  3. DM3000 Tool Change Macro (M6Start)
    By Fastest1 in forum Dyna Mechtronics
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-24-2016, 12:56 AM
  4. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 08-21-2012, 02:08 AM
  5. Change TL-1 Home Position
    By jmanjohns in forum Haas Lathes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-18-2008, 10:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •