585,754 active members*
3,853 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10

    C axis unnecessary rotation

    I have a problem on a 5 axis DMU160P with TNC530 control. In the code below, the table is already at position, but line 14453 causes the C axis to rotate 360 degrees, back to the same position, while simultaneously moving to depth in Z. This caused the tool to gouge the part.
    Is there a way to stop the table making this unnecessary rotation. I know code M126 will rotate by the shortest route. Willl the M126 code reset the axis and stop this unwanted rotation from taking place?

    14437 ;
    14438 M129
    14439 ;
    14440 ; SAFEPOINT Y
    14441 M140 MBMAX
    14442 L Y0. R0 FMAX M91
    14443 M55
    14444 TOOL CALL 3 Z S4974
    14445 TOOL DEF 7
    14446 ; KINEMATICS AUTO SET CYCLE DEF 19
    14447 CYCL DEF 19.0 WORKING PLANE
    14448 CYCL DEF 19.1 A+90. B0 C+33.368
    14449 L B+Q121 C+Q122 R0 FMAX
    14450 CYCL DEF 32.0 TOLERANCE
    14451 CYCL DEF 32.1 T0.010
    14452 L X-5.437 Y+18.514 R0 FMAX M3
    14453 L Z+435.916 C-146.632 FMAX M8
    14454 L Z+432.916 F895
    14455 L X-5.973 Y+15.562 RL
    14456 L Y+15.522
    14457 CR X+1.987 Y+7.522 R+8. DR+
    14458 L X+2.046
    14459 CR X+10.374 Y+10.972 R+11.778 DR+
    14460 L X+24.934 Y+25.531

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    99

    Re: C axis unnecessary rotation

    Hi,

    Yes you need M126- I faced the same issue with my DMU 50 evolutation wherein we managed to break some tools due to the M126 command being missing. We realised this when we manually edited our 5 axis program and missed out a M126 in the process.

    I am not sure if you have programmed this manually or via a CAM software- in our case our CAM software directly post processes the M126 wherever required using the appropriate post processor for our machine.

    Basically M126 for the rotary axes considers the angle as 0-360 (and then back to 0) instead of the absolute form (0- infinity)- so supposed you were a 700 degrees before calling the M126 and you needed to go to 0, it would go 700 degrees in the negative direction. After calling M126 it will go 20 degrees in the positive direction instead as 720 degrees and 0 degrees is essentially the same position, and 720 is the shortest path there.

    Hope this helps!
    Best regards

    Jaideep
    23

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10

    Re: C axis unnecessary rotation

    Thanks Jaideep. That's what I thought, thanks for confirming it. I've already requested the M126 code be added to the post.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    99

    Re: C axis unnecessary rotation

    Just for my information, which CAM software are you using?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10

    Re: C axis unnecessary rotation

    Siemens NX12.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-11-2017, 10:31 PM
  2. Tormach Post Processor 4th axis - unnecessary G30 and A0
    By 74BurkeMVN in forum Tormach Personal CNC Mill
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-25-2017, 02:37 AM
  3. Unnecessary Retracts In Surface Toolpaths
    By stumpy1807 in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-06-2014, 05:56 AM
  4. Unnecessary Surface Cut - Cut3D
    By Arashb in forum Vectric
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-24-2011, 07:39 AM
  5. Is moving along Y unnecessary when using the 4th axis?
    By Arquibaldo in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-18-2008, 05:16 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •