509,576 active members
4,089 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > Chinese 2.2kw spindle burned out?
Page 10 of 11 891011
Results 109 to 120 of 126
  1. #109
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6374

    Re: Chinese 2.2kw spindle burned out?

    Hi, thanks a lot....that answers my question....I suspected it would be so for AC which is not handed like DC with + and -.

    I'm downsizing my work place and this soon to be manual mill will take care of the odd jobs......I have a large Ajax turret mill but it's taking up too much room so eventually onto Gumtree and EBAY with it etc.

    Thanks for all the tech help.....we should name you Mr VFD.....LOL.

    BTW, in the event of a burn out with these VFD's......would they be repairable by a DIY person.....but I suppose it would be the same as a switch mode power supply.....all circuitry and no circuit diagram and no user friendly spare parts.....mostly, too cheap to bother with I expect.
    Ian.

  2. #110
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10524

    Re: Chinese 2.2kw spindle burned out?

    Quote Originally Posted by handlewanker View Post
    Hi, thanks a lot....that answers my question....I suspected it would be so for AC which is not handed like DC with + and -.

    I'm downsizing my work place and this soon to be manual mill will take care of the odd jobs......I have a large Ajax turret mill but it's taking up too much room so eventually onto Gumtree and EBAY with it etc.

    Thanks for all the tech help.....we should name you Mr VFD.....LOL.

    BTW, in the event of a burn out with these VFD's......would they be repairable by a DIY person.....but I suppose it would be the same as a switch mode power supply.....all circuitry and no circuit diagram and no user friendly spare parts.....mostly, too cheap to bother with I expect.
    Ian.
    You are not likely to have any VFD Drive problems running at 50Hz / 60Hz unless you wire something really badly that could cause a short circuit

    If you damage a cheap VFD Drive some are repairable depending what has failed, those that have simple IGBT's are easy to replace
    Mactec54

  3. #111
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    445

    Re: Chinese 2.2kw spindle burned out?

    Hi, making an update, I ordered in a replacement spindle and it works. I now have two VFD's that were used to test the old motor.

    It looks so far like the initial frequency was wrong (50 hz instead of 400 hz). As the motor got boiling hot and burned out in a half hour which are the symptoms mentioned in another thread. I think it took a half hour rather than 5 min because of the aluminum motor mounts acting as a heat sink.

    When turning the new motor on, the spindle goes straight to 24,000 rpm and the onboard POT has no effect except the motor is stationary until the POT is turned. So maybe the VFD has been compromised. Is there a way to program a max RPM for the spindle so I can get running again? I checked the parameters against Mactecs recommendations a couple times and am puzzled. THanks

  4. #112
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10524

    Re: Chinese 2.2kw spindle burned out?

    Quote Originally Posted by justCNCit View Post
    Hi, making an update, I ordered in a replacement spindle and it works. I now have two VFD's that were used to test the old motor.

    It looks so far like the initial frequency was wrong (50 hz instead of 400 hz). As the motor got boiling hot and burned out in a half hour which are the symptoms mentioned in another thread. I think it took a half hour rather than 5 min because of the aluminum motor mounts acting as a heat sink.

    When turning the new motor on, the spindle goes straight to 24,000 rpm and the onboard POT has no effect except the motor is stationary until the POT is turned. So maybe the VFD has been compromised. Is there a way to program a max RPM for the spindle so I can get running again? I checked the parameters against Mactecs recommendations a couple times and am puzzled. THanks
    Some more details to use the Pot you have to check or change some of the settings

    Can you post what Parameters you have set

    PD002=1

    PD70=1

    J1 Jumper may need changing also but try these 2 Parameters first
    Mactec54

  5. #113
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    445
    Quote Originally Posted by mactec54 View Post
    Some more details to use the Pot you have to check or change some of the settings

    Can you post what Parameters you have set

    PD002=1

    PD70=1

    J1 Jumper may need changing also but try these 2 Parameters first
    I confirm the settings but my base and minimum frequency are set at 400 hz so maybe the unit is locked at high speed, factory settings seem to be lower. I think Ger said 100 hz is doable? Like 10k rpm

  6. #114
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10524

    Re: Chinese 2.2kw spindle burned out?

    Quote Originally Posted by justCNCit View Post
    I confirm the settings but my base and minimum frequency are set at 400 hz so maybe the unit is locked at high speed, factory settings seem to be lower. I think Ger said 100 hz is doable? Like 10k rpm
    You can not use any of the factory settings they are for a regular AC 3ph ac motor 50Hz 60Hz this is why you need to set the Parameters to suit your 400Hz spindle which is very different all VFD Drive have to have the Parameters changed to suit the motor they are running

    The Base should be set at 400Hz

    You need to post what Parameters you have set or the same thing can easily happen

    100Hz is 6,000Rpm do you have air cooled or water cooled spindle ??? this will determine how slow you can run your spindle
    Mactec54

  7. #115
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    445

    Re: Chinese 2.2kw spindle burned out?

    I am using the exact settings you posted from page 5:

    Huanyang Mactec54
    2.2Kw 220v 400Hz Air Cooled

    PD000=0 ( 1 For Parameter Lock )

    PD001=0 (1 For Remote Control)

    PD002=0 ( 1 For 0-10v Terminal Control or Remote Trim Pot Control )
    ( J1 Also Needs to be set for Remote Terminal Control 1-2 jumper connection )

    PD003=400

    PD004=400

    PD005=400

    PD006=5

    PD007=20

    PD008=220 (Motor Rated Voltage )

    PD009=15

    PD010=15

    PD011=120 ( 120 Minimum Setting VFD, 150 is Safe for air cooled for startup )

    PD13= 08 is for Factory reset, Only use this to set VFD to Factory Default Settings

    PD014 Acceleration=8 ( Adjust to suit)

    PD015 Deceleration=8 (Adjust to suit) ( PD15 is ignored IF PD26=1 Then the Spindle will Coast to a Stop)

    PD023=0 ( Forward Run Only )

    PD041=8 ( Carrier Frequency up to 10 Max for these Spindle motors)

    PD120=120 ( Stall Prevention )

    PD141=220 ( Motor Rated Voltage )

    PD142=8 ( Or Motor Max Amps )

    PD143=2 ( Motor Number of Poles)

    PD144=3000 (Max Motor RPM) 3,000= (24,000)

    PD70=0 ( This may need to be set to 1 if Control Voltage is 0-5v )

    PD72=400

    PD73=120 ( 120 Minimum RPM Setting 150 is Safe for air cooled spindles at startup )

    PD174=??? ( To Be Set to the VFD Drives Max Rated Output Amps )


    The board pot has no effect on spindle speed. Whenever the VFD is started, it rockets up to 24,000 RPM. I tried putting just 100 into PD144 and this changed nothing. PD002 = 0 and 1 each setting was same result of VFD ignoring the POT setting. Jumper was set to 2-3 and also tried at 1-2.

    I'm beginning to think both of the VFD's are compromised from being plugged into a burned out motor.

  8. #116
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    445

    Re: Chinese 2.2kw spindle burned out?

    With me its always the hard way.

    I reset to factory settings and ran the motor for a few seconds, and the pot worked as a control. But all other parameters were factory reset.

    Since the pot isn't working, I will try direct RPM control from Mach3.... or rather an external potentiometer.

    Air cooled spindle

  9. #117
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6374

    Re: Chinese 2.2kw spindle burned out?

    But....But.....didn't Mac tell you that you CAN'T use the factory settings, 'cos they're only for a normal 3 phase 3,000 rpm motor (2 pole)..........yet you still set to factory settings and switched on...….gonna be a bumpy ride.
    Ian.

  10. #118
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    445

    Re: Chinese 2.2kw spindle burned out?

    I used factory setting for about 5 seconds to see what difference it would make. All his recommended settings have beeen put back into the unit and I have no control over speed far as I can tell. When run button is hit spindle goes to full speed immediately

  11. #119
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    6374

    Re: Chinese 2.2kw spindle burned out?

    Well that would tell me that there might be a parameter setting to run with the panel control knob or an external remote pot......if that is the case then it is looking for an external pot but is set to run at full rpm.

    My VFD is different to yours, as previously discussed, but before it gets beyond saving I would go down the parameter list, as has been noted before, and do a careful check.....we don't want to get Mac in a tizzy unnecessarily.....he knows what he's talking about so be precise in your parameter setting details.
    Ian.

  12. #120
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    10524

    Re: Chinese 2.2kw spindle burned out?

    Quote Originally Posted by justCNCit View Post
    I used factory setting for about 5 seconds to see what difference it would make. All his recommended settings have beeen put back into the unit and I have no control over speed far as I can tell. When run button is hit spindle goes to full speed immediately
    Just running for 5 seconds is enough to do a lot of damage

    Parameter PD144 does not have anything to do with changing your speed

    Did you set PD070=1 ?? this is for pot control

    PD011=150 ( for air cooled )

    PD073=150 ( for air cooled )

    These are the 2 parameter that control your speed it seems they have changed back to the how the older VFD Drive used to work

    Where do you have the jumper set on J1 this Jumper is just beside to the right by the terminal block

    We may have to play with the PD003=150 also only after you have done the jumper and PD011 and PD073 PD070

    Did you set PD070=1 ?? this is for pot control
    Mactec54

Page 10 of 11 891011

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-19-2018, 05:12 PM
  2. Mini Mill X2 Spindle Head + VFD + Chinese Spindle= custom!
    By diyengineer in forum Uncategorised MetalWorking Machines
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-26-2016, 10:04 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-26-2016, 01:02 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-27-2013, 06:14 PM
  5. Burned!!!
    By Steve@Reliance in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-25-2006, 09:01 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •