508,381 active members
2,564 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Leadshine > MX3660 with SainSmart Relay
Page 4 of 4 234
Results 37 to 46 of 46
  1. #37

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    Thanks!

    The main thing is that I have four distinct and switchable relays now, which is a huge improvement. I'm close to being functional again should I get the leakage worked out.

    Any guess on what quantity of resistance I would need to control the leakage should I attempt that?

    I can test with the SSR as a shunt this evening as well.

  2. #38
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2015

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    whats you mains supply voltage ?

    120 V AC as in NA
    or
    230V AC as in Europe ( in my part of the UK my supply is over 240V AC)

    with a 240V supply you could try 68K ( 68000 ohms) 1 W

    John

  3. #39

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    I’m in the US, so 110/120 AC.

    Edit: fat fingers, lazy proofing

  4. #40
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    2015

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    for a 120 V AC supply you can use a 15 K (15000 ohm ) 1W resistor to test
    for long term use use a 2W resistor

    120/15000 = 8 mA

    120V x 8 mA = 0.96 W



    for 140V supply use a 22 K resistor

    140 / 22000 = 0.006 mA

    140V x 0.006 mA = 0.89 W

    use a 2W resistor

    John

  5. #41

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    14k if my math is right?

  6. #42

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    Okay, 2w it is.

  7. #43

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    I soldered up a 15k resistor with a bunch of 2.8k and 3.5k resistors (not sure wattage). I connected it across 1 & 2 on the SSR. Same result.

    I measure dthe voltage from the "off" side of the SSR load side, I get 72v when off. I see 120v when on. This is consistent on two different Fotek SSR's

    I have V+ across 1&2 on the Fotek unit, I think I am going to chanage that to V-. I am also going to test SSR state on/off manually, sans the MX3660. Perhaps this will show the switching of the MX3660 to be the issue.

  8. #44

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    Well, no luck with those tests. Same results. It also seems my fan blew after leaving it run on 70v for a half hour, it won't run on any outlet.

    It seems these SSRs are leaking like 70v when off. That seems way high to me. Nothing is making sense at this point. Maybe I should check to see that I am getting 5v successfully across the inputs. The LED on the SSR correctly turns on and off though, so that should be good.

    https://youtu.be/42807ZFIP4M

  9. #45

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    Case closed, boys. I ordered the 24v-380v AC solenoids, I received the 5v-200v DC solenoid. I didn’t read the label, and so I spent two our three hours messing around with the wrong parts. Seems like I’ll have to order the right stuff and hope I get it this time.

  10. #46

    Re: MX3660 with SainSmart Relay

    So I got "free" relays to replace the incorrect ones as I got to keep the incorrect ones (I do have some DC plans so it will work out nicely). I connected it all up tonight and with little surprise it all works as it should.

    This thread serves as proof, do not buy a Sainsmart relay board. Do buy Fotek units, just make sure to read the label before expecting results.

    Thanks again to every single member that posted. I'm not the smartest man in the world, it's awesome to have a group of people who are willing to help others out. That said, learn from my experiences, don't buy too good to be true relay boards, and make sure to check the parts shipped meticulously.

Page 4 of 4 234

Similar Threads

  1. Basic Questions about SainSmart Relay Module
    By atomarc in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-13-2017, 10:52 PM
  2. How to hook up SSR to sainsmart 5axis?
    By gbrlbll in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-22-2017, 07:07 PM
  3. Sainsmart CNC Motion Controller
    By Nissan20det in forum Want To Buy...Need help!
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-18-2016, 12:33 AM
  4. 24Vdc Solid State Relay not the same as mechanical relay??
    By cjchands in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-10-2010, 07:40 AM
  5. Using a solid state relay as a main stop relay
    By garagefela in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-26-2010, 11:27 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •