512,585 active members
3,501 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > Metalworking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Advice on closed loop stepper unit please
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    326

    Advice on closed loop stepper unit please

    Looking at purchasing this 1 axis closed loop driver/motor set for Z on my mill and would like your opinions please good &/or bad.
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Closed-Lo...0AAOSw3GBcxWAh

    I have a 60VDC power supply to run it from.


    The bog standard stepper set I have at the moment has too much torque (12nm) by the sounds of it.
    Resonance issues make it practically unusable. 8mh inductance figure isn't helping either I reckon.


    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    4392

    Re: Advice on closed loop stepper unit please

    You are running a stepper and your belief is it has too much torque? Is it missing steps? Have you tried different microstepping values?
    A lazy man does it twice.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    326

    Re: Advice on closed loop stepper unit please

    Quote Originally Posted by Fastest1 View Post
    You are running a stepper and your belief is it has too much torque? Is it missing steps? Have you tried different microstepping values?
    Tried it. I've gone from 1000/rev up to 10,000/rev with no change.
    It's not missing steps as such, t's the resonance from it making it stall. Can only get to 1200mm/min.
    If I swap it for a 1090 oz/in the noise is almost gone and I can double the rapid speed.

  4. #4
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    4916

    Re: Advice on closed loop stepper unit please

    The stepper you've got doesn't have too much torque, it has too much inductance. With 8mH, it wants about 90vdc supplied to run optimally. While high-torque motors tend to have more inductance, there isn't a fixed ratio between the two factors. Motors can be designed to maximize torque and minimize inductance, but doing that seems to make them cost more. That other motor you pointed at with inductance of 3 mH would be a much better candidate, but you'll need special software to take advantage of the closed-loop feature.
    Andrew Werby
    Website

Similar Threads

  1. need some assistnace with closed loop stepper set-up
    By CS900 in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 02-12-2015, 08:30 AM
  2. Open Loop to Closed Loop Stepper Conversion
    By beamhome in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-09-2014, 11:27 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-13-2012, 11:15 PM
  4. Closed loop with stepper motor?
    By mtndrew77 in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-08-2009, 04:36 PM
  5. Stepper motors Closed loop
    By funkmonkey in forum Stepper Motors / Drives
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-17-2009, 09:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •