584,879 active members*
5,199 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Looking for some guidance

I'm Austin,

I'm a mechanical engineer and new to this forum, and am in need of some guidance.

I am looking to build a CNC machine (Mill/Router). Normally when designing something I would figure out the specs that I want and design accordingly, BUT I came across some free Kollmorgen servo motors and matching drives (pictures attached).

I would like to use these for something DIY if possible as they are high quality, closed loop(not sure if necessary or useful), and were the right price ????

My thoughts are as follows:

1. CNC wood router 4' x 8' capacity with maybe a rotary axis (this is what I'm leaning towards)
    2. CNC mill 2' x 2' or similar
    3. CNC plasma cutter 4' x 4' or larger
    4. Sell the motors and get some nice steppers
    5. Really cool electric merry-go-round ????

I know starting with the motors and working backwards is far from usual, and that these motor are really heavy.

I'm looking for the thoughts of you guys as to what direction I should go with this. I have a shop with a mill, lathe, MIG welder, and plasma torch already, so fabricating parts is no problem.

Here are some more questions I have.

1. Does anyone know how to control these motors with Mach3? They don't really take a step and direction as they are servos, so I assume some sort of PLC between the drives and PC. I have figured out how to make them move from the drive software.
    2. Would a rack and pinion drive system be the best bet for the long axis on a router table?

I really appreciate any insight you guys might have as I am woefully ignorant of these things.

Thanks,
    Austin!

Re: Looking for some guidance