505,896 active members
2,553 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CNC Electronics > Spindles / VFD > HY spindle on/off but no speed control.
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    258

    HY spindle on/off but no speed control.

    If my BoB is correctly putting out voltage (0-10v) based on RPM input (Mach3) for my Spindle speed then the problem must be on the vfd side? (HY VFD & 2.2kw Spindle)

    I think I have every parameter set correctly for ext control and the jumper moved to pins 1&2. I can turn the spindle on/off but cant control speed.

    P0070 needs to be set for "0" for 0-10v right?

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    524

    Re: HY spindle on/off but no speed control.

    You don't supply much information. I had issues with my HY spindle speed control also at first. Not sure of your setup so kind of hard to offer help, but if you are using Mach 3 or UCCNC I would suggest getting a cheap RS 485/USB converter from Amazon (less than $10) and getting the HY plug in (free). From there it's only a simple 2 wire connection to your VFD and it makes things fairly simple. There are a number of posts on this forum regarding the plugin and RS485 use with the HY VFD and spindles, but this gentleman provides a great video and info which may help. Good luck.
    https://www.cncnutz.com/2017/05/mach...trol-with.html

  3. #3
    Community Moderator ger21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    34519

    Re: HY spindle on/off but no speed control.

    Quote Originally Posted by dbtoutfit View Post

    P0070 needs to be set for "0" for 0-10v right?
    Yes.
    What do you have for PD001 and PD002?
    Gerry

    UCCNC 2017 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2017.html

    Mach3 2010 Screenset
    http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

    JointCAM - CNC Dovetails & Box Joints
    http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

    (Note: The opinions expressed in this post are my own and are not necessarily those of CNCzone and its management)

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    258

    Re: HY spindle on/off but no speed control.

    Thanks guys.

    Got it working. Even though I did not find a single setting wrong.
    I did a Master reset (PD0013=8). I then went back through and reentered the settings.
    I am now a firm believer that the order you go about entering the settings can be/is important. (I know PD003 can not be set to 400 until 4 & 5 have been set)

    Anyways in the end I had to play with setting on PD001 and PD002.

    I basically had them both set to 0 (After the the rest).
    Then changed 002 to 1.
    Turned off the VFD, moved the jumper back to VI. (pins 1-2) Wired only the FOR and DCM to the relay.
    Turned on the VFD
    Toggled Mach3 relay to turn on the spindle (which didnt work but just saying exactly what I did, don't know if it help unbug things or not)
    Then set 001 to 1.
    Powered off the VFD and wired VI and ACM back.
    Turn back on VFD.
    Tested in Mach3, it started working.
    Then set 071 to 0 from 1.

    For some reason it worked this go around. I went through all the setting and wiring before I did a reset and they were all correct. Continuity, Polarities etc.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Now just got to figure out how to get Mach3 RPM DRO/Input synced to the VFD. Running about 2k deviation higher per vdf ROTT display.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    258

    Re: HY spindle on/off but no speed control.

    In the end It is soooooo much better to just go with the HY plugin and USB RS485 Adapter. That's what I did $8.00 next day on Amazon Prime

    Thanks for everyones help.

Similar Threads

  1. Spindle question Control spindle speed via UCCNC
    By sierradays in forum UCCNC Control Software
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-25-2019, 12:08 PM
  2. Spindle speed control
    By Lnt in forum Spindles / VFD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-02-2019, 07:11 PM
  3. X2 Spindle Speed Control
    By BSawyer486 in forum Benchtop Machines
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 10-19-2011, 09:22 AM
  4. BPSeriesI / Centroid control- Spindle speed all out of whack with speed dial?
    By peter.blais in forum Bridgeport / Hardinge Mills
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-08-2006, 09:29 AM
  5. spindle speed control
    By terrycrout in forum General CNC Machine Related Electronics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-16-2005, 04:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •