504,518 active members
3,986 visitors online
Register for free
Login

Thread: Cimco Edit

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    74

    Cimco Edit

    Hi guys,

    I can´t send and receive program with Cimco edit, i set the same parameters that the control. Actually use Hyperterminal and i want change this for Cimco. Exists a configuration for Haas lathe?

    Thanks for your time,

    Alain

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1498
    070613-1942 EST USA

    alain aleman:

    You did not specify your settings.

    I will suggest the following as a starter:

    At HAAS 9600 baud rate, 7 data bits, 1 stop bit, even parity, software handshake.

    Use a cable with a 25 pin male connector at HAAS and a 9 pin cable female at the PC. Do not use a USB to RS232, but use a PCI card in the mother board if there is no internal RS232. Connect pin 2 to pin 2, pin 3 to pin 3, pin 7 on the 25 pin connector to pin 5 on the 9 pin connector. Pin 1 on the 25 pin connector to the shield. This is the only shield connection. Make a short cable, like 10 ft, with these connections.

    At the PC, assuming windows like XP, go to the device manager and disable the FIFO for the COM port you are using.

    In CIMCO Edit select TRANSMISSON, DNC SETUP, pick a machine, use standard generic protocol, generic ISO, and pick setup.

    Now set the parameters --- your COM port, 9600 baud rate, 7 data bits, 1 stop bit, even parity, software handshake, do not enable DTR, RTS, use \17 for Xon, \19 for Xoff. The defaults for RECEIVE and TRANSMIT are probably OK. Pick OK to save your changes.

    Use Send File and Receive File for communication.

    Put HAAS in receive first, then initiate send at the PC.
    Or
    Put PC in Receive File, then initiate send at HAAS.

    .

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    19
    i use cimcoedit to send my programs to a haas vf-3. works great! i don't know all the specifics off hand, but i think i am sending at 128,000 baud rate

Similar Threads

  1. Issues with VMC20 using CIMCO Edit
    By SeriousMach1 in forum General CNC (Mill / Lathe) Control Software (NC)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2007, 10:48 PM
  2. Drip feeding to a Haas with Cimco Edit
    By BMackinnon in forum Haas Mills
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-15-2006, 02:02 AM
  3. Fanuc OT - Cimco
    By stealth03ss in forum Machine Problems, Solutions , Wireless DNC, serial port
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-11-2006, 05:45 PM
  4. DNC between FANUC 16 and CIMCO dnc Max
    By Ninus in forum Machine Problems, Solutions , Wireless DNC, serial port
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-13-2006, 04:32 PM
  5. Cost of Cimco DNC Max 4 and Cimco Edit
    By CBNDude in forum Community Club House
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-10-2005, 09:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •