512,349 active members
2,455 visitors online
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    5

    Control Box for 3020

    I have a 3020 machine with a YOOCNC 3 Axis Controller. I think the controller is starting to give out (it makes a funny noise upon startup sometimes).

    I don't want to wait until it dies. Is it possible to buy a replacement somewhere? I haven't been able to find one anywhere online.

    Tanks!

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    508

    Re: Control Box for 3020

    A funny noise could simply be a noisy cooling fan. Pull the cover off and investigate some more.

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    5

    Re: Control Box for 3020

    Yes, of course: it could be an easy fix. However, I'm not sure I have a lot of confidence in the long term reliability of these controllers. I would like to know what my options are for replacement if a repair becomes difficult or impossible. This machine has become an integrated part of our little shop. I was just surprised that I couldn't find a replacement box similar to what I had anywhere.

    What are others using for control boxes?

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    48

    Re: Control Box for 3020

    If you're looking for a quick direct replacement I have some spare parts from what originally came with mine. Send me a PM if you're interested.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    48

    Re: Control Box for 3020

    Otherwise, something like this could be configured if you're willing to do some DIY wiring.

    SainSmart CNC Router 3 Axis Kit, TB6600 3 Axis 4.5A Stepper Motor Driver Board, Mach3 5 Axis Breakout Board
    https://www.amazon.com/SainSmart-Rou...s%2C210&sr=8-2

    Here's a picture of it wired into a 3020 enclosure I modified a while back.

    Attachment 428020
    Attachment 428022
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20190808_081342.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	157.8 KB 
ID:	428024

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    508

    Re: Control Box for 3020

    Quote Originally Posted by ncnmra View Post
    Yes, of course: it could be an easy fix. However, I'm not sure I have a lot of confidence in the long term reliability of these controllers. I would like to know what my options are for replacement if a repair becomes difficult or impossible. This machine has become an integrated part of our little shop. I was just surprised that I couldn't find a replacement box similar to what I had anywhere.

    What are others using for control boxes?
    OK...You wouldn't replace your control box with one similar, as you would want to get something BETTER.There are various sources for pre-built and tested new control boxes around. Anything not from China will use excellent hardware.
    Many to choose from and too many to mention them all.
    Theres at least one on Ebay that sell , what looks like a nice product.
    If you buy one you will have to configure it and the software in order to get it working its best.
    Sorry I can't be more specific....its a hard question to answer....

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    5

    Re: Control Box for 3020

    Hi guys, thanks for the replies. To be more specific, I'm not having any issues with the control box I have now, other than the sound at startup made me consider I should have a spare just in case. I suppose I was surprised that these were not readily available for purchase, and only seem to come as a kit with the entire machine.

    I have seen some 3-axis controllers on eBay / Amazon, but they all look like they have different terminal connections (the controller I have has BNC style connectors). I also wasn't sure if there is something specific required to make them work. Ideally, a plug in replacement would be great.

    @sterob, can you suggest maybe one or two that could be considered a "drop in" replacement?

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    508

    Re: Control Box for 3020

    Quote Originally Posted by ncnmra View Post

    @sterob, can you suggest maybe one or two that could be considered a "drop in" replacement?
    This one of the ones I was thinking of:
    https://tinyurl.com/y3c5qwnx

    I have never seen a CNC Router use BNC connectors so what ever you do, you will have to do some rewiring, me things.
    Any 'Drop in replacement' will have the same short comings that your existing box ( if any ) has. A better product will need some wiring adaption and Mach 3 configuring..

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-01-2018, 07:31 AM
  2. Chinese 3020 JP-382A Vacume control
    By ryanagray2003 in forum Chinese Machines
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-09-2016, 07:45 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-01-2016, 12:06 AM
  4. Interfacing Arduino + GRBL with 3020 control box
    By dannystaple in forum Open Source Controller Boards
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-05-2014, 10:01 PM
  5. New 3020 CNC Newcastle
    By pole3597 in forum Australia, New Zealand Club House
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2011, 09:31 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •