584,830 active members*
5,608 visitors online*
Register for free
Login

Question how to get started with CNC router?

Hi,

Newbie here. I'm having this Chinese made aluminium 4020 CNC router. It comes with a Mach3 control box connects to PC through USB. LazyCAM is also included in the software.

I'm complete new to CNC milling and have only watched a few Mach3 youtube videos to get the basics of it. But I have been playing with Fusion360 and 3D printing for over a year. So when I saw Fusion360 has the Mach3 post processing I naturally preferred Fusion360 as it seems to be much easier to use and has the nice simulation and tool configuration. To my disappointment, the first g-code I ran broke the 3.175mm end mill against a piece of pine. Cutter seemed to want to move through the whole stock to the other side to begin the cutting. I did zero Z position before doing that and the router seemed to know that. Just that before moving the cutter will plunge first. I think there must be something wrong with the g-code. But problem is I don't know the g-code, either.

Can anyone tell me how I can get myself started with this thing? Do I have to learn LazyCAM or can I get away with Fusion360?

Thanks!

Re: how to get started with CNC router?

Fusion 360 will work fine. I normally set Z zero to the top of the part in cam. Also, make air cuts (no part or tool bit) until you know what the machine is going to do when you run it.
    Jim Dawson
    Sandy, Oregon, USA

I have good news for you, and bad news...

The good news is you are not the first person to have done this.... and you won't be the last, either. If you're bored sometime, search YouTube for "cnc crash".

And the bad news is that won't be the last bit you break... sometimes we make "oopsies"... and sometimes they just break for no apparent reason.

As for your specific issue, have a look it this; it might help:

https://www.nyccnc.com/fusion-360-ca...hts-explained/