508,028 active members
2,625 visitors online
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > CAM Software > Alphacam > hole drilling feature
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    16

    hole drilling feature

    hi hope someone can help the issue i am having is i want to drill a a hole form the drill/machine holes tab im having a problem with one hole because the geomtrey isnt an exact circle. i wanted to drill a 20mm hole 14mm into a 18mm board and save it as a style for use with automation manger got everything working its just that one hole. i have attached a screenshot of what i mean. if anyone has any ideas i would appreciate it.
    thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    279

    Re: hole drilling feature

    Hi,

    geometry is join ? I mean a Circle with a lines.
    Alphacam post and VBA macros, Autodesk HSM post.
    www.cadcam-softcz.cz

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    108

    Re: hole drilling feature

    You need to tell, where the geometry comes from - solid featureextraction?

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    70

    Re: hole drilling feature

    AlphaCam won't drill a hole thats not a full circle, just draw another circle at the centre of the semi circle to use just for drilling then hide it if it's in the way.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by camnerd View Post
    You need to tell, where the geometry comes from - solid featureextraction?
    Yes it was a solid extraction I've just ended up making the circle smaller in sw

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by FrankCNC View Post
    AlphaCam won't drill a hole thats not a full circle, just draw another circle at the centre of the semi circle to use just for drilling then hide it if it's in the way.
    I'm doing this in automation manager so its abit of a pain if I have to drawer over 100 circles. I've managed to solve the problem by just making the circle smaller in solidworks before I import them into automation manager.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    108

    Re: hole drilling feature

    Quote Originally Posted by shiv15uk63 View Post
    Yes it was a solid extraction I've just ended up making the circle smaller in sw
    You could just do the feature extration, telling AC that it shoul include partial holes up to a certain angle - the it will make You a full circle automaticly

Similar Threads

  1. hole drilling
    By kevinmanuel in forum DRILLING
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-2018, 01:57 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-28-2014, 12:56 PM
  3. Need advice from the pros - centering a hole and drilling hole pattern
    By asifjahmed in forum General Metalwork Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-18-2012, 12:11 AM
  4. Hole Drilling
    By jsanchez177 in forum DIY CNC Router Table Machines
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-2010, 07:38 PM
  5. Hole drilling help
    By stevehuckss396 in forum General Metalwork Discussion
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 01-27-2008, 08:15 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •