585,987 active members*
4,623 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
IndustryArena Forum > MetalWorking Machines > Benchtop Machines > Lot of Basic Questions from a Newbie

Question Lot of Basic Questions from a Newbie

Hi I am a software engineer by profession. I also studied some electronics in my graduation. I can do lot of stuff in a Comp, few stuff with Microchip PICs, but mechanics is a new world for me .

Only Last week I got introduced to fascinating world of Home Made CNC by visiting http://www.mr-bean.co.uk. Though first I though “It’s not my cup of tea”, after visiting http://www.cnconabudget.com and http://www.crankorgan.com/brute.htm I though of building one on the same design. But I have some basic questions which you senior people need to answer.. be patient to read till end..:

1. Since a stepper motor is Open Loop motor, how computer (or the CNC controlling software) knows that a command is successfully completed by the machine? For example if the controller asks the CNC machine to move the spindle down to drill 0.5” deep hole how it knows that its finished? What is stepper stalls because the job material is very hard?

2. In all the designs I have visited I could see a limit switch and a home switch but none say anything about the wiring part. If steppers are controlled by stepper motor controller where these switches will go? What happens when these switches are closed? If it simple stops the stepper from rotating further or it even informs the computer that the job table reached the extreme end? If it only stops then what happens if I try to mill a job of say 8” (in X axis) but my machine supports only 6” movement, so when the x axis tries to move behind 6” it closes limit switch. What will be the response from the controller?