585,557 active members*
3,491 visitors online*
Register for free
Login
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    4

    Question G71 G-Code Issue

    Hi Everyone,
    I have been placed in charge of a very old(not old as me btw!) CNC Ann Yang Lathe.
    the issue I'm having is to understand the G71 cycle it uses.
    The following are an inside an outside sample i have got to work.
    It uses Type A G Code according to the documentation.

    Now Questions,
    1. What brand of G Code is it?
    2. Why does a simple two line G71 code not work?(not the Single line type 2 BTW)
    3.Can some one explain how to combine multiple steps in this style of G Code?
    HAAS and Fanuc don't seem to fit this model in various ways.
    First two lines are fine, its just the P to Q lines that are throwing me ATM
    And finally does anyone know of an offline G Code generation program that utilizes the bulk of the Canned Lathe Cycles?(Free or at a reasonable price)

    Internal(Works Fine)
    G71 U0.200 R0.5;
    G71 P14 Q15 U-0.200 W0.125;
    N14 G00 X89.500 Z0.500;
    G01 X89.500 Z0.000;
    G01 Z-25.000;
    G01 X84.000 Z-25.000;
    N15 G01 U-2.000;

    External(works Fine)
    /* Turn Diamater */
    G00 X121.000 Z1.000;
    G40;
    G71 U0.500 R0.5;
    G71 P110 Q150 U0.125 W0.125;
    N110 G00 X110.000 Z1.000;
    G01 X110.000 Z0.000;
    G01 Z-110.000;
    G01 X120.000 Z-110.000;
    N150 G01 U2.000;
    G00 X120.000 Z1.000;
    G70 P110 Q150;
    G00 Z5.000;
    G40;

    (Doesn't Work)
    G71 U0.125 R0.5
    G71 P80 Q90 U0 W0;
    N80 X60;
    N90 Z-75;

    Regards
    Wes

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    395

    Re: G71 G-Code Issue

    Hey Wes,

    External(works Fine)
    /* Turn Diamater */
    G00 X121.000 Z1.000;
    G40;
    G71 U0.500 R0.5;
    G71 P110 Q150 U0.125 W0.125; ( -- add a F... for roughing )
    N110 G00 X110.000 Z1.000;
    G01 X110.000 Z0.000; ( -- add a F... for G70 finishing )
    G01 Z-110.000;
    G01 X120.000 Z-110.000;
    N150 G01 U2.000;
    G00 X120.000 Z1.000;
    G70 P110 Q150;
    G00 Z5.000;
    G40;

    (Doesn't Work)
    X40. ( add a start diameter )
    G71 U0.125 R0.5
    G71 P80 Q90 U0 W0; ( -- add a F... for roughing )
    N80 X60; ( add a G01 )
    N90 Z-75;

    Regards.
    Heavy_Metal.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    4

    Re: G71 G-Code Issue

    Thanks Heavy_Metal, however the one that doesn’t work has a prep move the same as the others, I just didn’t put it in. The roughing feed is a standard rate placed at the start of the program. If you need a fine feed it iis placed within the P and Q blocks in this one.
    i have found that a G00 move has to be the first move to the first diameter and I think that’s the reason the last example doesn’t work.
    its looking like a Haas style code I think.

    regards
    Wes

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    395

    Re: G71 G-Code Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by ozwes007 View Post
    Thanks Heavy_Metal, however the one that doesn’t work has a prep move the same as the others, I just didn’t put it in. The roughing feed is a standard rate placed at the start of the program. If you need a fine feed it iis placed within the P and Q blocks in this one.
    i have found that a G00 move has to be the first move to the first diameter and I think that’s the reason the last example doesn’t work.
    its looking like a Haas style code I think.

    regards
    Wes
    We have a Haas NextGen controlled lathe and it has the G71 with one line code, so not like our Fanuc lathes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1792

    Re: G71 G-Code Issue

    May like to read this for detailed information on Fanuc 2-line G71/G72.

Similar Threads

  1. G code issue with arc ijk
    By gr3g0rs in forum Autodesk CAM
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-28-2017, 10:19 PM
  2. Issue with G Code
    By nova24 in forum Dynomotion/Kflop/Kanalog
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 02-14-2012, 11:19 AM
  3. G code issue
    By bipe in forum Mastercam
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-14-2010, 01:01 AM
  4. G-code issue on G81 / G99
    By tikka308 in forum BobCad-Cam
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-30-2008, 09:01 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •